DIY Inspiration: Wall Love

Our walls are borrrring. We’ve hung up two posters in our living room, and while we have some more to hang up…I would like to hang up more than just posters. I’ve been searching through thrift stores, flea markets and craft fairs, but since the good stuff can be pricy, I figured I would just try making my own.

I’ve been attempting to organize my Pinterest better, in hopes that I will actually use what I pin. So, while sorting through my boards, I’ve found some beautiful DIY wall adornments, and I wanted to share some of my favorites with you:

Photo Credit: Rachel Denbow / A Beautiful Mess

Photo Credit: Rachel Denbow / A Beautiful Mess

I love these wall hangings! For some reason, anytime I find them at a flea market or thrift store, they always smell like smoke. It’s super annoying. Back in my heyday, I probably would have thought it added “character,” but now it’s just annoying. Rachel Denbow shares a weaving basics class on A Beautiful Mess, including what supplies you’ll need and a step-by-step tutorial with descriptive photos. I’m thinking of giving it a try and if you’re interested in weaving at all, check it out!

Photo Credit: Bonnie Forkner / Going Home to Roost

Photo Credit: Bonnie Forkner / Going Home to Roost

This DIY wax resist dip dyed wall hanging from Going Home to Roost is gorgeous! She includes a simple tutorial and lists the supplies needed and some good photos. This was hung up in her baby’s nursery, but I know there are some good ones I can make for our home, too. And if you find yourself in a wax resist frenzy, she also shares a onesie tutorial!

Photo Credit: Caitlin McGrath / The Merry Thought

Photo Credit: Caitlin McGrath / The Merrythought

I have been loving botanical posters for a while now, but I’m not loving their prices. This DIY Botanical Poster from Caitlin McGrath at The Merrythought is simple and you could do an underwater themed one, too. It’s all hand-painted so as long as you like the way you paint, you could do a lot with this tutorial. A supply list and photos are also included.

Photo Credit: Kelli / Lolly Jane

Photo Credit: Kelli / Lolly Jane

This Home Sign Decor DIY from Kelli at Lolly Jane looks simple to make, and it’s just adorable. She used clip art that she got online, but you can use any stencil for this project…or just do it all from scratch! Kelli includes a supply list and photos with her tutorial.

Photo Credit: Amy Anderson / Mod Podge Rocks

Photo Credit: Amy Anderson / Mod Podge Rocks

There are so many canvases that have old paintings on them that I will never hang up. I usually sand them down and repaint them, but this Doily Wall Art DIY from Mod Podge Rocks is another idea for reusing these old canvases, and you can do so much with it. The tutorial is part of Amy’s 20 Ways to Mod Podge a Canvas post, so if you’re not into this…there are plenty other projects to choose from. A supply list, photos and step-by-step instructions are included!

Do you have some DIY Wall Art hanging in your home? Did you do one of these projects and want to share? Post in the comments and connect with me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Google + and Pinterest. Let’s keep the inspiration going!

 

One thought on “DIY Inspiration: Wall Love

Leave a Reply

