Thrifty Thursdays: A thrifty project

When we moved into our house, we upgraded Cecilia’s toy chest from a cardboard diaper box to a plastic tub. Since then, I have been pining for a wood toy chest for her, but felt defeated when every chest I liked was over $100. I didn’t want one that had a theme or was gender-specific, so that it could be used for many years and could be shared by our children.

The older toy chests were more expensive (obviously) and didn’t have the safety features they do now. Apparently that was the era of trial-and-error. So you can imagine my excitement when I found a toy chest for $22 at R 2nd Chance, a local thrift store, a few weeks ago. Since I donated a box of items, I got it for 30% off so I ended up getting it for only $16. Booyah! It has a soft close, and space so it won’t smash little baby fingers.

chestI took that bad boy home, cleaned it, sanded it and painted it. And then painted it again. And again. The best part is that the top is flat, so I decided to make that into a chalk board that she could create on. However, the chalk paint seeped through the painters tape a few times. Since I used spray paint on the rest of the toy chest, I would have to spray paint the parts that got the chalk paint on it and then that would get on the chalkboard, so I would have to repaint with chalk paint.

IMG_2753 photo 2 copyIt was a vicious cycle that I went through a few times until I came to terms that there would be little spills of chalk paint, and I’m hoping I can get that same color of spray paint in a little container of paint to touch up those spots. In the end, it will be in a toddler’s room and will probably get ruined after a couple days of use, anyway.

After everything, the toy chest cost was $16 plus about $10 in materials and about 6-8 hrs in labor. Next time, I would maybe use a different brush and less chalk paint on the edges so it won’t seep. Well worth the time in order to save $80-100. Plus, it’s way more special. I hope.

photo 3Have a fun thrifty project to share? Did you do this project and want to share photos? Post in the comments and connect with me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram,Β Google + and Pinterest!

Stay thrifty, my friends.

Leave a Reply

