I want a farmhouse kitchen. Now.

Living SituationBefore we even made a bid on the house we are living in, we were already scouring the world wide web for ideas on how we wanted our dream house to look. To be honest, I was already pinning home ideas long before I knew we would be buying a house. Luckily, we agreed on pretty much everything we looked at and the biggest thing we had in common is that we wanted a vintage farmhouse kitchen. Like everyone else in the world, it seems.

From the white subway tile to the butcher block counters and large farmhouse sink. From the open shelving to the mint cabinets. It all just feels so comfortable and lived in. That’s what I want. I don’t want a kitchen where I would be afraid to make a mess. I don’t need shiny counters, I want counters I can work on. Now that we are finally here and the dream is feeling more real, it’s time to really think about how we want our kitchen to look.

I want to share some of the inspiration I’ve found, and since I’m lucky enough to have so, so, so much to share, I figured I would break it up into categories. Today, I’m sharing general kitchen inspiration – how I want the kitchen to look as a whole. Then I will get more and more specific as the weeks go on. Man, this really makes me want to start demolition today.

2c8b7c6b22ab08b313697d0ced3ed985Ah, the kitchen that started it all. Now, I’m not sure this is technically classified as farmhouse style, but this is what gave me the idea that I wanted a vintage style kitchen. I love the colors and the open shelving. And of course, I’m totally loving on that oven. I would go with a different floor and different bottom cabinets, but it’s still pretty damn dreamy. I’m not sure where this photo came from as it was directly uploaded to Pinterest. So if anybody knows, please fill me in!

Image from Better Homes & Garden

Image from Better Homes & Garden

Just about everything in this cottage kitchen from Better Homes & Garden is just what we want. The subway tile, the cabinet colors, the mix of open and closed cabinets and of course, that gorgeous sink. We’re doing concrete counters with one butcher block counter, but everything else is exactly what we have in mind.

Image from houzz

Image from Shawn St. Peter

Here’s another beautiful kitchen with our color scheme. This 1901 kitchen remodel in Portland was designed by Garrison Hullinger Interior Design and it’s featured on houzz. The coolest thing about this is that if you click on the houzz link, you can get the info on different items in the photo. Like, the paint color used here is Van Alen Green HC-120 by Benjamin Moore. BOOM! It was beautifully done and looks like it could be lived in.

Image from This Old House

Image from This Old House

Something a little different. This warm and bright bungalow kitchen was featured on This Old House and while I can’t stop thinking about how hard it would be to keep all that open shelving clean, I’m just so in love. It’s homey without being too cluttered and I love the simple mixture of colors and vintage accents. And I’ve decided that I’m just destined to have a 1950s O’Keefe and Merritt stove. Just need to find a stove and get it restored – should be easy and pretty inexpensive, right?

I hope you will continue to join me as we work on our little nest. Next week, I’ll be sharing some different cabinet and shelving inspiration. If you have anything to share, please post in the comments and connect with me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Google + and Pinterest.

4 thoughts on “I want a farmhouse kitchen. Now.

  1. I love your ideas! I can’t wait to see what you do! I ended up getting a butcher block online and I was going for a farmhouse look, too. I think if I had it to do over I would get the Black Walnut but I got the Hard Maple.

    Aaanyway, I thought you might want to look at it since it’s affordable and right up your ally (I think!).

    The site was craft art.com but the link is https://store.craft-art.com/store/homeowner-diy-you-can-do-it/black-walnut-plank-style-homeowner-diy/

    Oh, and PS, I love your mama style skirt/dress idea. totally stealing that.

    Thanks for sharing all the coolness with us!

Leave a Reply

