The Living Situation: Work it, girl

Work it girlI never really imagined how challenging it would be to get any projects finished with a toddler in the house. She’s constantly on the move, which means I am, too. So I was actually pretty pumped when I learned that my workspace would be moved out of the house  – due to the baby on the way – and into the studio in our backyard. We’re pretty lucky to have that studio in the first place.

Half of the studio will be storage for both our belongings and our tools, and the other half will be all mine! Obviously I won’t be able to get in there that often, but when I do, I will have free range to do what I want! To help get the creative juices flowing, I found some pretty inspiring workspaces and wanted to share them with you!

From A Beautiful Mess

From A Beautiful Mess

Of course I love this space from A Beautiful Mess. It would be perfect for the tool storage, and I could put a lot of my bigger supplies there, along with the little ones. I would just need to figure out a way to include the personal belongings storage and make it all work. This is definitely a good place to start, though.

From Karson Butler Events on Inspired by This

From Karson Butler Events on Inspired by This

I have a multitude of notebooks, ranging from big and small, and everything in between. I try to keep one with me at all times in case I get inspired by something. Since I often write in different notebooks, the ideas and concepts often get lost. I would love to have a chalkboard wall with a corkboard so I can keep track of all my crazy ideas. And there is just something about this chalkboard wall from the design studio of Karson Butler Events, and featured on Inspired by This. It just screams “CREATE IN HERE!” (hence the caps).

From Paper Fashion, featured on Glitter Guide

From Paper Fashion, featured on Glitter Guide

Katie Rodgers from Paper Fashion sure knows how to make a comfy workspace. I would probably opt out of putting a couch in the room – strictly out of fear that I would just end up lying on it the whole time – but I would definitely love to have the lights up, and I love all of the bright colors. It totally brightens the mood and gets you energized…perfect for getting to work. You can see more of this workspace over at Glitter Guide.

From Heart Handmade UK

From Heart Handmade UK

What really caught my attention about this room by Heart Handmade UK was the use of storage, especially this fabric cabinet. All of my fabric ends up in a bin and then is forgotten. If I kept it visible like that, it might actually get put to use – what a thought! I also love the vintage odds and ends she has decorating her space. See the entire craft room tour by clicking on her blog link above.

Have a fun creative workspace to share? See something that inspires you? Share it in the comments and join the fun by connecting with me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Google + and Twitter!

Leave a Reply

