The Living Situation: Watching paint dry – Phase One

Since we found out we were getting a house, I have been glued to HGTV and the DIY Channel. I’ll watch home renovation shows, namely Rehab Addict and Home Crashers, Yard Crashers – basically any kind of Crashers – and I’ll think to myself “I could totally do that. Renovate somebody else’s house, you know…do all the dirty work and then just leave.

After spending two whole days painting our walls, and not even coming close to finishing – HELL NO. I know these home renovators are getting paid to do it, but HELL NO. And we just painted. We didn’t have to do any other manual labor. Just paint. Something that I normally love to do.

Alas, we are pretty pumped with how it’s turning out so far and we’re hoping to get some more painting in every week until it’s done. Luckily, we left the walls in such a shape that we have no choice but to finish what we did. This is the color palette for the house:

L-R: Sherwin Williams Muslin, Outerbanks, Homestead Brown, Creamy

L-R: Sherwin Williams Muslin, Outerbanks, Homestead Brown, Creamy

We ended up going with Sherwin Williams because they were having a big ol sale, and we are really pleased with the colors. Our main color is Muslin, the hallway and back of the house is Outerbanks and our accent wall (because we’re fancy now) is Homestead Brown. All of the trim is Creamy.

The beginning

The beginning

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Our main color – Outerbanks

SONY DSC

Our fancy accent wall, leading to our backyard

For Cecilia’s room and my office, we first decided on this palette.

L-R: Anjou Pear, Cavern Clay, Restful

L-R: Anjou Pear, Cavern Clay, Restful

We got a sample of the Restful, and even though I only have one coat up, I’m not a fan. It’s too light, personally, and it feels more like a nursery than a little girl’s room. I’m not sure I want to even do another coat, I might just go for a darker tint. I want to do the same yellow and a teal in the office.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

These are just little snippets of what was done. I plan on doing a more in-depth post when it’s all said and done. Monday is the big move-in day and I still have a lot of packing, cleaning and painting to do. I’m so excited to live in our new home, but I’m not super pumped about all the work to do. I thank my lucky stars every night that this is the kind of problem I have, though.

Have any thoughts about our color palettes and painting, in general? Share them in the comments and connect with me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Google + and Pinterest!

Leave a Reply

