Things Worth Celebrating

ThingsWorthCelebrating_700pxWhen I signed up for the Things Worth Celebrating Community Blog Tour with Petit Cadeau, I was racking my brain for things that would be worth celebrating on my blog. I ultimately decided that the little things we celebrate every day (like when Cecilia naps for longer than 30 minutes, or she eats all of her baby food) just wouldn’t make the cut, so therefore – I didn’t really have a lot to write about.

Then, we rented Dallas Buyers Club last night – it’s about a cowboy who found out he had HIV and eventually exploited the relationship between pharmaceutical companies and Doctors. It’s crazy to imagine that this was a true story, and I knew how much I was into it, because for once – I didn’t fall asleep in the middle of it, even if it was way past my bedtime. It got me thinking, there is something worth celebrating and it happens every day – life!

IMG_1667

I’m in the middle of so many things that haven’t come to fruition yet, but I hadn’t yet realized how wonderful it is to be involved in so much. I didn’t realize how lucky I was to stress about school, to worry about if my businesses will thrive or not, and how unbelievably happy I was that the only thing I have to worry about with my daughter is if she will sleep good for me and eat her food.

I don’t have to worry about living with something that is slowly killing me or anyone in my family. I don’t have to worry about medications, or where my next meal will come from. All the things I have to worry about are good things. They mean progress, and they mean that we’re doing alright.

IMG_1392

The other night, I was banging my head on the table and eating as many Samoas (I will never refer to them as Carmel Delites) as I could possibly shove in my mouth because of my project for school. I was making a DIY photo box for school and I suddenly realized how useful this will be to me, and instead of fighting it so much – I should embrace the lesson and take all from it that I can. I should celebrate the fact that I’m in school, learning about a field I hope to work in for a long time.

Another school assignment I did that I loved

Another school assignment I did that I loved

And as stressful as house hunting can be, I’m happy and grateful to have a home to hunt. We should be embracing the hunt, not fighting it. This will be the home that we will raise our family in, where we will make memories that will last forever and a place that we can make – and call – our own.

And finally, even though my businesses are not thriving right now, I should be grateful to have the opportunity to start a business from home. I should be celebrating the fact that I have a supportive boyfriend and family who make it possible for me to do this. I should be more fearless with my business choices, and I should make the most of it. Take this time to focus on making a prosperous life for me and family. I should definitely celebrate that I am working with one of my best friends. Not a whole lot of people can say that.

IMG_0768So, today I’m celebrating the good worries and the good stresses. Because they mean forward movement. I’m not saying that I will never get stressed out again. We all do. It’s a part of life. But instead of being stuck in that negative place, it’s always good to think about what worries and stresses you, and see the good in it. Because, for the most part, there’s always good in it.

One thought on “Things Worth Celebrating

  1. Great post, Amanda! I think it can be so easy for many of us (myself included!) to get frustrated by the things in life that in actuality are so worth celebrating, like the ability to house hunt and go to school.

    (BTW, they will always be Somoas to me as well, and apparently in the South they still are!)

Leave a Reply

