Creative Business Journey: Project 2014

Image from Oh My! Handmade Goodness

Image from Oh My! Handmade Goodness

I was moved by a quote that Susan Petersen from Freshly Picked shared yesterday.

“Are you paralyzed with fear? That’s a good sign. Fear is good. Like self-doubt, fear is an indicator. Fear tells us what we have to do. Remember one rule of thumb: the more scared we are of a work or calling, the more sure we can be that we have to do it.”

It’s from Steven Pressfield’s The War of Art and it expressed how I have been feeling lately to a tee. Every time I e-mail someone to see if they want to be featured in my series, there is a fear. My hands get sweaty and my heart races. What if that person hates the idea, or worse, hates my blog? What if they don’t want to bother with something so trivial and small? Luckily, most of the people I have asked have been nothing but wonderful, and if they do pass, they do so with care.

But none of that would have happened if fear consumed me. There wouldn’t be a Yo Momma Monday or a Meet the Maker series if I let the fear dictate me. And I would have never gotten to know the incredible people I have, or would have been able to share their stories.

I have been making a lot of changes – some natural, and some terrifying. In January, when I was thinking about what needed to happen, I knew that I needed to be fearless. To not become consumed by my fear or to doubt myself, but to embrace my fear as a call to action. Project 2014 was the perfect challenge for me, and I love having someone to check in on me to make sure I’m taking care of my business.

be fearless

Now that my blog redesign is pretty much good to go, I’m focusing my energy on how I want to see my blog in the future. I’m going to explore the world of sponsorships and partnerships and get more people involved in my blog – expand the community more. Because I know, deep down in my heart, that this blog can be everything I want it to be. It just takes some work, and more than that – it takes confidence.

As for Sweet Mariposa, I need to get to work on creating new stuff! I have made a plan in the past to do all of my creating on Saturdays, but as with anything else, you can’t plan when you create. And you certainly can’t plan it on a day that is usually reserved for family time. I need to go through all of my stuff, and see what I want to build on.

There’s also an insane amount of fear that comes with showing your art to the world. Because once someone makes one negative comment about it, you immediately want to take it down and protect it from the cruel world. But, depending on the comment, there is a lot you could learn from it.

Is there a flaw in your work, or is it just that person’s opinion? Do you hear the same comment from different people? Maybe the message you’re trying to convey isn’t clear, and you need to change some things up. Or maybe…you just need to accept the fact that not everybody will love your work like you do, and move on.

How do you handle your fear? Is there anything you have been wanting to pursue but haven’t out of fear? If you want to share, please feel free to do so in the comments and on my Facebook, Twitter and Google +. When you share, you give others the chance to support you, and possibly even learn from you. You can find more of my creative business inspiration on my Pinterest.

2 thoughts on “Creative Business Journey: Project 2014

  1. Your outlook for 2014 is a complete inspiration. Thank you!

    As for irrational fears, how’s this one? I finished an entire novel but am afraid to send it to a publisher because I handle rejection THAT poorly. How sad is that?

    • Thank you so much for your lovely words! And that’s not silly at all, I haven’t even started writing the book that I want to because of the fear nobody will want to read it.

      But like I have heard many times before, the worst they can say is “no.” Eventually, you will find a publisher that will love and respect your work. And if you don’t, then you can go rogue and so the self-published route!

      You just have to take a deep breath, and embrace your fears. What is your novel about, anyway?

Leave a Reply

