Thrifty finds

I think the men of Creedence Clearwater Revival were clearly underestimating the amount of thrift stores in Lodi when they wrote the song Stuck in Lodi Again. I’ve been so spoiled by all of the good prices here, that I have a hard time thrifting in Sacramento because everything is so overpriced. There are so many good stores, and I will have to remember to get photos of them all.

It was actually during a thrifting excursion when my friend Kandyce and I were talking about how much we both love taking trash and turning it into something awesome that we decided to start Sweet Mariposa together. Now when we get together, that’s what we do. Go grab some lunch in Lodi and thrift around town. It has become one of my favorite rituals.

During our last trip, we hit up our two favorite shops – Lodi Junction and New & Again.

IMG_0127

  • I got a 1st Edition Farm House Book that  at New and Again for a $1 and it has a lot of good tips for self-sufficiency, canning and a whole bunch of recipes.
  • I got the embroidered hat box for a $3 at Lodi Junction, and I have completely fallen in love with it. Kandyce and I decided we’re going to keep it and use it to transport our stuff when we attend craft fairs and whatnot.
  • I got two tote bags for $1 each and I’m planning on screen printing something on them. Not sure what yet, though.
  • The records were 6 for $5 and I got some good ones – Johnny Mathis, Babs, Sound of Music. Not sure if I’m going to collect them or sell them. I already have so many records and I’m sure it’s giving Sam an ulcer. So I might have to sell.

So, I got all of that for $10. Kandyce got some stuff at Lodi Junction, so our total came to $15, and we got $5 off that with a coupon. It’s kind of amazing.

Did you score any good thrifts lately? Share them in the comments and on your social media sites with the hashtag #staythrifty. I love sharing good deals! And as always, stay thrifty my friends.

Leave a Reply

