Project 2014

Image from Oh My! Handmade Goodness

Image from Oh My! Handmade Goodness

One of the biggest reasons for me starting my blog is that I had a lot of ideas and projects running through my head and was tired of searching for the random notebook I wrote them down in. I also wanted to connect with other creative people who could inspire and move me to work on all of those projects I’ve been holding off on, and I wanted to find new ideas to build on and grow from.

When I went to write my post today, I needed some inspiration. While I had a lot I wanted to say, I didn’t really know how I wanted to say it. So I ventured over to Oh My! Handmade to see what the monthly discussion theme was. Each month, there is a new theme for bloggers and creatives alike to use as inspiration for their businesses. This month’s theme was Project 2014: Choose Your Own Adventures. This felt like the perfect time to share a project I have been working on!

A couple years ago, I found a nonprofit art studio named Vox through Twitter, and I started volunteering for them. With a few friends, I helped organize one fundraiser for them called Art Speaks. It was a huge success and because of all the community support, it was a lot bigger than I had ever imagined. Unfortunately, Vox has run into some funding problems and will probably have to close their brick and mortar studio.

A little piece of Art Speaks

A little piece of Art Speaks

Luckily, creative people are always open to new ideas, and when we’re lucky, those ideas can turn into solutions. Before I found out about their funding issues, I brought up an idea of restoring furniture with children at their studio. It was something I would hope to get my daughter involved in when she was old enough. Since they will be closing the studio soon, we have decided to turn it into more of a mobile community studio, where can work with other organizations and involve more of a community.

To kick things off, we have come up with a fundraiser to help raise money for our new project, and to raise money for another nonprofit who is doing the same thing – Out of the Dark in the UK. While the fundraiser will be in-person, we are hoping to add an online component as well.

Photo from Out of the Dark

Photo from Out of the Dark

The most important goals at the moment are:

  • We need a name for the fundraiser – something that implies renewal and restoration. That is our theme for the project and the fundraiser as a whole.
  • A location for the fundraiser – Since Vox is closing down soon, we don’t want to count on the studio as a venue. There are a few choices in Sacramento, and we want to work with an organization/company that we can continue to work with in the future.
  • A date – We need enough time to send info to local publications and get everyone involved.

There is a lot of work to get done, and I’m actually pretty excited about getting to everything. This is going to be such an amazing experience, for many reasons. I have wanted to get into community organization and promotion, so this will help me decide if that’s truly what I want.

It will also allow me to practice my graphic design more, and to use my writing skills to help get my ideas across. It will also be the first time that Kandyce and I will have a booth for Sweet Mariposa, so we will need to get everything together for that.

This will be a huge moment, not only for Vox, but also for my creative business. It will help guide me to what I really want to do, and I’m excited to see where it takes me.

What projects are you working on? Do you want to get involved in my project? Connect with me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Google + and Pinterest, and you can e-mail me!

2 thoughts on “Project 2014

Leave a Reply

