Thrifty Thursdays

thrifty thursdays

We did it! We survived the Christmas mania! Time to venture back to reality – where we wash dishes, and clean floors and make dinner. We don’t survive on cookies for our only source of nutrition and we don’t participate in the A Christmas Story marathon. All of our money is gone, and we don’t want to think about making another gift or batch of sweets for another year.

I put so many of my projects aside to focus on Christmas, that I want to start getting back to them. Like, today. I officially have four weeks left of my vacation and I plan on getting a lot of crafting done before I’m back to the grind. So the first project on my list? My DIY Cork and Chalkboard!

453ee12ed86e11e2b45222000a1f97b0_7

I got this barn window from my stepsister, and after all the glass broke in our car (fun experience that was), I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it!

Since the glass was already broken, I didn’t have to worry about what to do with that. I decided to change the paint color of the window, so I got a sander (I think the sander may be one of my favorite inventions) and sanded it down until it was smooth enough to paint over.

ae5711acec2a11e2852722000a1fbd42_7

Then I got a piece of plywood at Lowe’s and made a line in the middle. I painted half of it with chalkboard paint and I spray mounted cork paper (?) to the other side. I also mounted foam to the back of the cork to make it easier for pinning. Right now, I’m at the point where I’m going to staple some fabric I got to the corkboard and then it will be time to mount the wood to the frame!

Before the chalk and cork

Before the chalk and cork

I’m really excited to see this project finally come to an end, so I can use this bad boy! Hoping to finish it by next week so I can move on. I have a big bin of odd things I’ve been collecting to make stuff with, and I can’t wait to share all of my projects with you! I’m planning on keeping some of them and then either selling or gifting the rest.

What projects do you have in store? Is there anything you put aside for Christmas and are going to get back to now? Post your project link in the comments and share your progress with us on Facebook, Instagram, Google + and Twitter with the hashtag #staythrifty. You can also find more thrifty inspiration on my Pinterest!

Stay thrifty, my friends.

Leave a Reply

