Giving Tuesday: My favorite nonprofits

Today marks the second annual Giving Tuesday – a national day of giving. Since I have worked with nonprofits before, and I know how hard it can be to raise money, I thought I would share some of my favorite nonprofits and different ways you can support them. All of these organizations are run by volunteers who are doing this because they truly believe in the cause and helping other people. That’s kind of an amazing thing, when you think about it.

Photo from Krochet Kids

Photo from Krochet Kids

Krochet KidsI wrote about this awesome nonprofit before, and I am doing it again just because I love them so much. Kohl Crecelius learned to crochet from his older brother, and soon taught his two friends, Travis and Stewart. Though they all went to different Colleges, they would volunteer together in developing countries. After one of the founders, Stewart, returned home from a Summer in Uganda, they were motivated to teach Ugandan women to crochet so they could rise out of poverty. The clothing and accessories are signed by the makers and all of the donations fund their efforts. They recently You can read more about their story here and you can donate here. They recently worked with twin sisters Jennifer and Amy Hood – who founded Hoodzpah – to sell limited edition screen printed posters, one of which is shown above.

Photo from Out of the Dark

Photo from Out of the Dark

Out of the DarkThe moment I read about this nonprofit, I immediately felt inspired. This organization was founded by two brothers who work with disadvantaged kids to restore old furniture. They also founded Street Dreams, which they have run for 13 years now, and started this charity as an outreach of that organization. Since I recently fell in love with the art of restoration, I instantly felt a connection with Out of the Dark. Their work is beautiful, and looks super professional. I could definitely see myself buying some pieces – once I have a place to put them. You can learn more about getting involved here and can donate here.

Photo from Musana

Photo from Musana

MusanaMuch like Krochet Kids teaches Ugandan women to crochet beans in order to make a living, Musana works with Ugandan artisans to sell their beautiful beaded jewelry. All of the sales, donations and grants they receive go back into their foundation and helping the Ugandan artisans grow through educational and vocational training. They source their material locally in Uganda, and work with local artisans, academics and professionals. You can find read more about their story and artisans here and you can get involved here. I’m thinking of holding a Musana Market, myself.

And for some local nonprofits…

Photo from Sol Collective

Photo from Sol Collective

Sol CollectiveFounded in 2003, Sol Collective is a center dedicated to art, culture and activism. I have been to several art shows there and I’ve seen all the work they do inside that building, and I’m always amazed by their passion and determination for their cause. They provide community programs like the Free-Sol Arts Academy – which provides in and out of school art workshops for kids – and the Sacramento Activist School – a gathering of all generations who are focused on social justice issues. You can sign up for a membership here.

Photo from Vox Sacramento

Photo from Vox Sacramento

Vox SacramentoEven though I only lived a few minutes from Vox when I lived in my dear Midtown, I actually found them through Twitter and decided I wanted to volunteer. When I went to meet with Eric (co-founder), he was in the midst of an art class for kids and was so excited to share his goals with me. I later co-hosted a fundraiser called Art Speaks with my good friend Candice and I have worked on and off with them since then. They are still very dear to my heart, and I hope to work with them more. You can find out more about them here and you can donate here.

We all know how tight money is, so even if you can’t donate, nonprofits love them some volunteers. And if you don’t live close to them, ask if you can help with social media and/or sending out newsletters. Trust me, they would love the help! Feel free to share your favorite nonprofits in the comments and on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter with the hashtag #givingtuesday. Check out more awesome people behind awesome causes on my Pinterest.

One thought on “Giving Tuesday: My favorite nonprofits

  1. Pingback: Share Your 3 Favorite Nonprofits #GivingTuesday | I heart PGH

Leave a Reply

