Thrifty Thursdays: Tutorial time!

thrifty thursdays

I love thrifting. I love the thrill of finding stuff that you just can’t get anymore, and most of all – I love finding them at good prices. I love going to swap meets, street fairs, antique fairs and craft fairs because I love meeting people who collect and create these awesome, unique items, and I love hearing the stories behind their work.

But what I love more than anything is taking something old and giving it a whole new life.  It expands your mind, makes you look at each and item you see differently and it gives a whole new meaning to thrifting. Recently, I got addicted to finding old cheese graters, prettying them up and turning them into earring holders. Now, I don’t normally wear earrings, so for me they work great as gifts.

Recently, I worked with Bev Feldman – an awesome mama to be who I met on Oh My Handmade – on a tutorial for my cheese grater upcycle and she shared it on her Linkouture blog yesterday! It was my first time ever creating a tutorial, so it was a fun learning experience and I am so thrilled that she posted it on her site!

grater tutorial

You can find my full tutorial here and you can also click on the photo to be directed to the site. Since Bev is nearing her due date, she has enlisted several bloggers and creatives to share DIY tutorials, recipes and their thoughts on creativity. I have already seen a lot of good stuff there, so if you are looking for some inspiration, you should definitely turn there!

Now…time for the fun stuff. I am offering a FREE cheese grater jewelry holder on my Facebook page! Winner will be chosen at random and the prize will be shipped two weeks after the giveaway has closed! You can choose the color and design…the style of the cheese grater will be the same as in the photo above.

Since I love all of my supporters, I’m also offering a free jewelry holder to anyone who shares my Facebook page! Just comment on this post with a link to your post and I will enter you in the giveaway!

Do you have a fun upcycle tutorial that you want to share? Post in the comments and on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram with the hashtag #staythrifty! Find more thrifty inspiration on my Pinterest!

2 thoughts on “Thrifty Thursdays: Tutorial time!

Leave a Reply

