Fridays are for Favorites

fridays are for favorites

With Halloween a little less than a week away, I figured it was high time for me to do the obligatory Halloween post. Since we’ve had our share of the Halloween costumes, crafts, printables, recipes and party ideas by now, I thought I would do something a little different. I love all of those posts as well, but since my little one is hardly at the crafting age, and we certainly aren’t throwing a party, I’m going to share some awesome art-inspired pumpkins that have caught my attention.

We’re going to the pumpkin patch tomorrow, and to be honest, I’m most excited about getting a pumpkin just so I can puree all of it’s guts and toast the seeds, I figured I might as well use it for all that I can and paint that sucker! I found these painted pumpkins to be most inspiring, and I hope you do too!

Image belongs to Studio DIY

Image belongs to Studio DIY

DIY Donut Pumpkins from Studio DIY – We actually have two small donuts that would be perfect for this project! You just need a couple of pumpkins and some acrylic paint to get the job done. You can see more at Studio DIY by clicking on the link or the above photo. I happened upon this site through Pinterest and it seriously makes me want to throw confetti in the air. I won’t because I just cleaned in here, but I seriously want to. Kelly, who runs this site, has done a beautiful job designing it. She shares all kinds of DIY projects, parties, supplies and events on her page – and even accepts submissions!
This may be one of my new favorites.

Image belongs to Alisa Burke

Image belongs to Alisa Burke

Frida inspired pumpkin from Alisa Burke – I’m a huge fan of Alisa Burke, so obviously I love her Frida-inspired pumpkins. This definitely gives me some inspiration for the big pumpkin I’m going to get tomorrow. She also includes 11 other painted pumpkin projects she has done over the years in her post, including this sketchbook pumpkin, where she shares photos of her process from step one. If you are needing some artistic inspiration, this is definitely a good place to start.

Image belongs to Oleander and Palm

Image belongs to Oleander and Palm

Southwest Inspired Pumpkins from Oleander and Palm – I love the simple and clean design on these pumpkins. Jeran has a nice theme going here, just like her modern and geometric pumpkins she did last year. This post is part of her Halloween-centric posts, and there is plenty more to find. She has pumpkin recipes, Halloween decor and more. Go check out her entryway and fox photo booth – both very fun!

If you have any fun painted pumpkins to share, post in the comments and on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram with the hashtag #fridayfavorites and #paintedpumpkins. You can find more painted pumpkin inspiration on my Pinterest! If you used any of these pumpkins as inspiration for your creation – share your project and photos with us!

Leave a Reply

