Gettin Fit: Old Clothes Challenge

Baby, it’s cold outside. And when it’s cold outside…a few things start happening. We skip a couple days of shaving (ok, maybe that’s just me), we wear more and more clothes and…we suddenly forget about our diets and go buckwild for all the comfort food our stomachs can handle! I don’t what it is, but the minute it gets cold – I immediately want a grilled cheese and a cookie.

Since I’m a little under a month away from my deadline to reach my goal weight (I have 13 lbs to go, and it needs to be gone by Nov 12 – my birthday), I can’t let the cold weather come in between me and my old clothes. I found a few recipes that will help keep us all on track with staying healthy and fit. And of course, there is pumpkin involved.

Image belongs to MJ and Hungryman

Image belongs to MJ and Hungryman

Pumpkin and kale lasagna roll-ups from MJ and Hungryman – This is exactly why I love roundups. I found this recipe through a healthy pumpkin roundup on Greatist, which led me to a site I never visited before – MJ and Hungryman. They posted this recipe on another site I didn’t know about until now – Healthy Aperture – a healthy food photo sharing site run by dieticians. So if you don’t believe in the power of roundups, it’s time to start believing!

Image belongs to Love & Lemons

Image belongs to Love & Lemons

kale stem pesto from Love & Lemons – If you are all about the kale, or if you happen to have some leftover from making those awesome lasagna roll-ups, then check out this recipe. Now, I will have to admit – I made a spinach pesto before and I gagged. It was horrible. My poor food victims sat and ate it as politely as possible until I finally told me they could stop. We ended up flooding the pasta with store-bought sauce, which defeated the whole purpose of making my own sauce. So, I’m going to give this recipe a try and hopefully it will turn out better than my spinach pesto!

Image belongs to Elana's Pantry

Image belongs to Elana’s Pantry

How to Roast Butternut Squash from Elana’s Pantry – A little while ago, my boyfriend’s aunt was nice enough to give us a big ol winter squash from her garden. I’ve been meaning to look up recipes with winter squash in them but I keep forgetting! Then I saw this recipe from Elana’s Pantry…just what I needed! Elana said that you can use any winter squash with this recipe so I’m going to try it on my winter squash with some pasta tonight. YUM!

I’m looking for some cool fitness blogs to follow, aside from my favorites: Greatist, DoYouYoga and Fitness Blender. I’m looking for fitness bloggers that are all about home workouts, and if they do yoga, then that is a bonus! Please share any health and fitness blogs you follow so I can check them out!

Connect with me on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest and Twitter for more health and fitness inspiration and join my challenge by using the hashtag #oldclotheschallenge on your posts. Let’s make this holiday season a healthy one! Go team!

 

Leave a Reply

