Gettin fit: Old clothes challenge

Do you have a rice cooker? I do. I attempted cooking rice several times before purchasing said rice cooker, and let’s just say it never worked out. On one occasion, I was so afraid to burn the rice that I barely cooked it…and my friend seriously had to ask what exactly I was attempting. Is it rice soup? Were you going for hard rice? The next time, I was a little more relaxed about cooking the rice, and it ended up burnt. Since rice is a staple in my house, I decided it was time to purchase a rice cooker. And since I’m also a fan of multi-purpose appliances, I was happy to find this article by Emily Ho for the Kitchn. (Side note, you should totally check out Emily Ho’s website. She’s awesome).

Image belongs to The Kitchn

Image belongs to The Kitchn

Turns out, you can make steel cut oats, polenta, beans and frittata in the rice cooker! You can click on the photo or on the link above to get directions for making all of this. While we are on the topic of making wonderful food, here’s an awesome recipe for steel cut oats! They’re super good for you, and perfect for the colder weather.

Image belongs to The Gracious Pantry

Image belongs to The Gracious Pantry

Clean Eating Pumpkin Oatmeal – If you have ever visited my blog before, you know how deep my obsession with pumpkin runs. I’m also slightly obsessed (ok, maybe a little bit more than slightly) obsessed with The Gracious Pantry. This looks like a wonderful recipe that I have yet to try. It’s something you could also make on a Sunday and finish throughout the week…which is the easiest and best way for me to eat breakfast.

 

1377980_10151877898908718_537610050_n

I WAS ABLE TO DO YOGA THIS MORNING! My baby girl has not been sleeping well lately, but she actually slept in her own crib all night long, and slept long enough for me to squeeze in a quick practice this morning! It felt so good and I feel so rejuvenated now. I can seriously take on the world. So, watch out, world.

I also got back into my routine with the Beginner Bodyweight Workout Plan from GB Personal Training. I’m doing Week 1 over again, since I got a little off path last week. I have decided to stick with low-impact workouts and yoga for my fitness needs. I’m more likely to stay on track and it’s kind of hard to carry and play with a baby when your legs feel like jelly and you can barely move. Sure, it’s a sign of a good workout, but it’s kind of pointless if I can’t do anything after.

Image belongs to Greatist

Image belongs to Greatist

Whatever exercise you choose, it does your body good. Check out this article from Greatist to find more unexpected benefits of exercise. Every time I read an article like that, I get more motivated and inspired to continue working out every day. Fitting into my old clothes ain’t too shabby, either 🙂

What are you reasons for getting and staying fit? Do you have a good recipe to workout to share? Post in the comments and share with us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter with the hashtag #getfit or #oldclotheschallenge. If you hate hashtags, make sure to tag me in the post so I can see and share! You can also find more fitness inspiration on my Pinterest!

2 thoughts on “Gettin fit: Old clothes challenge

    • Your recipes are a major hit in my house, and probably the only reason I have kept up with my clean eating life as much as I have! I would love to write about you if you are up for it!

Leave a Reply

