It’s all business, baby

There are very few nights during the week that I am able to go to bed before 10 pm. Ironically, on those nights, I am unable to sleep. I lay awake worrying about stuff that I don’t even need to worry about, but I can’t get them out of my head. Since my boyfriend wakes up at 5 am and has a very strenuous job, I don’t want to wake him, so I normally find myself on the couch, thinking. Luckily, this insomnia has given me some time to think about the direction of all of my work. And here is what I have decided.

logo

When I started baby burrito collective (my online art collective), I had a big picture of what I wanted. Back when I lived in Sacramento, I was big into the art scene, even though I never considered myself an artist. I just loved being around it all, and I loved to help promote my artist friends the most that I could. I wanted to keep that going when I started my art collective. I couldn’t do it in person that much anymore, so I wanted to do it all online. Since everything is so out there right now, and not a whole lot of people are taking their stories to the media anymore, that part of it is limited. So, I’m offering more web services now: adding people to my website and online store, creating flyers and pretty much anything else they need to get started. I’m still working on transforming it, but I’m seeing my vision become more and more clear, day by day.

Sweet Mariposa

I have also decided to change my online handmade shop from Mariposa Blossoms to Sweet Mariposa. For some reason, that name has just sort of stuck with me, and it sounds so beautiful, so I decided to change it. I have also added another person to my shop, my friend Kandyce! I’m going to be putting up a few of her paintings, and some new stuff I’m working on, so they should be up there soon! I’m really excited to see what will happen with this shop!

And finally…my first love, this blog. I thought about it really hard, and this is what I want to see happen. I like the flow that it has right now, and I’m hoping to add some more profiles on women who started their own businesses, especially moms. I love hearing their stories and I feel so inspired every single time I write about them. I have been contacting a bunch of lovely ladies – to the point that I feel like a vacuum saleswoman at times – and I am hoping to share some of their stories soon. I also hope this will lead me to some people that I could write about in my book, but only the future will tell. I will be sharing some more news soon!

I am always looking for people and companies to partner up with. The online handmade community is one of the biggest reasons that I started blogging, and I love everything about it. If you think your story would fit with this blog, or if you think your company would benefit from sponsoring this blog, please let me know. I would love to work with you. I am also thinking of starting a book club that is centered around reading homemade business books. Let me know if you’re interested in joining!

Thank you so much for joining me on this wonderful journey. You can connect with me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest and Google+. I’m pretty much everywhere. Let me know if you want to be featured on my blog, or if there is someone you think I should interview. Post in the comments and use the hashtag #businessminded on any of the social media sites listed above.

Leave a Reply

