Gettin fit: Old Clothes Challenge

Current weight: 143 | Fitness goal: Yoga and workout every day | Food goal: Eat as clean as possible

A couple weeks ago, I decided to stop the 365 Days of Yoga Challenge on Instagram. I still practice yoga and I try to fit it in every day, but sometimes, it just doesn’t happen. One day I was practicing, and I realized mid-practice that I forgot to bring my phone in to snap a picture for the Challenge. When I got back into the practice, I didn’t feel the same. I was too busy worrying about getting a good shot. And do you know how many truly good poses you can capture when you are the one doing the poses, and taking the photos? About two.

Cecilia is also getting a whole lot more active and just wants to walk around all day. Since she can’t walk by herself yet, she depends on me to hold her hands while she cruises the house. When I’m not busy playing with her, I’m cleaning the house, taking online design classes and turning my love for writing into a career. So, if I happen to miss a workout, it’s not the end of the world for me anymore. She gives me plenty of a workout, anyway!

Now that the weather has cooled down a little, I’m going to take her on walks a lot more, since that not only helps me get in shape, it’s good bonding time with her and it helps me relax and take everything in. Since I’m not working out as much as I was, I need to stay focused on eating better. Since joining the Real Food Challenge with Eat Hugger and Erin Motz, I’ve tried a few new recipes.

Image belongs to Eat Hugger

Image belongs to Eat Hugger

Yesterday I tried the Butternut Squash Mac & Cheese but used pumpkin instead, since that’s what I had, and it’s what I love the most. It was so delicious, no joke. I use lunch time as my time to experience with different food since my family isn’t all into that. So, I made some yesterday and I’ll eat it every day for lunch until it’s gone. Since becoming a mom, I’ve learned to enjoy the same food for several days in a row.

IMG_0233

The picture isn’t blurry. That’s the steam coming off my pasta. Delightful!

I know that I probably could squeeze at least 30 minutes of working out and stretching into my day every day. I think I’m going to work on doing yoga in the morning or at night, and then a walk with the baby. If I can get more in, that would be awesome…but every day is a new day! As long as I keep the house clean, get my homework done, and most of all, keep my baby happy, then life is good.

What are your biggest struggles with keeping a schedule or routine? Share them in the comments and on Facebook and Twitter. You can follow more of my fitness inspiration on Pinterest and can keep up with my Old Clothes Challenge on Instagram. Hopefully the next time I update this, I will be able to fit into some more of those old clothes!

Leave a Reply

