Recipe Remix: Caramel Oatmeal Chewies

A couple weekends ago, I went to my very first estate sale. While there, I scored five cookbooks for $1.00. The deal was really 20 books for a $1 but since I wasn’t about to walk into my house with 20 books, I stuck with five. One of the books was a Betty Crocker Cookbook from the 70’s. Inside, there was a recipe printout for Caramel Oatmeal Chewies.

IMG_0197

I had never made this recipe before, and I wanted to give it a try. I decided to switch up the ingredients a little to come up with a “clean-er” version, and I wanted to share the recipe with you.

  • 1 3/4 c Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked) (I used oats from Trader Joe’s, but any will do)
  • 1 1/2 c Whole Wheat Flour (I didn’t have enough WW all-purpose flour, so I mixed in WW pastry flour)
  • 3/4 c + 2 tbl Honey
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 3/4 c Pumpkin
  • 1 c Chopped Walnuts (The recipe called for pecans, but I only had walnuts so I used those)
  • 1 c Dark Chocolate Chips
  • Unsweetened caramel topping  (It called for a cup, but I just drizzled a little

Heat oven to 350° F. Spray 13×9 in. baking pan (I ended up using a much smaller one) with olive oil or coconut oil spray (veggie oil spray also works, of course). Combine oats, flour and baking soda. Mix well. Stir in pumpkin and honey. Mix until all blended. Reserve one cup of mixture and spread the rest in the baking pan. Bake 10-12 minutes or until light brown. Cool 10 minutes.

Top with chocolate chips and walnuts. Mix the caramel and 1 tbl flour until smooth. Drizzle that on top and then spread the remaining mixture. Bake an additional 18-22 minutes (I baked mine for 20 minutes). Let cool until it sets. Cut the bars before they get too cold.

IMG_0205

So, there it is. My very first recipe remix! They turned out really super delicious! I hope you enjoyed reading this, and I plan to do many more recipe remixes in the future. I’m going to start with that Betty Crocker cookbook. I used The Gracious Pantry to figure out how much to use for my substitutions/conversions, so if you also want to find out how to substitute healthy ingredients, check her out! If there is a recipe you want me to remix, let me know in the comments or on Facebook and Twitter! You can check out my pictures of this deliciousness on Instagram and see more recipe remix inspiration on my Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

