Thrifty Thursdays

thrifty thursdays

Last week, my friend Kandyce and I did something that we rarely ever get to do…we went out on our own for the day. We left the babes with their dads, and we hit the streets to find some good yard sales. What we landed on was something I had only heard about, but never had the chance to experience before…an estate sale! It was run by a local consignment store, New and Again, and that place was packed.

I ended up with a two suitcases (no, we don’t travel), a grocery bag of clothes and a few cookbooks – all for under $15. This was when my love for estate sales started. It was like the ultimate Thrifty Thursday, but on a Sunday. We hit up a couple more yard sales, where I scored some canning supplies, and an Antique Store in Downtown Lodi.

950ed72a201911e3904e22000a1f928e_7Oh, just look at those beauties.

A while ago, I spotted a tutorial on DIY Suitcase Tables – hence why I picked up the suitcases in the first place – and I desperately wanted to try it. They’re so cute and can hold lots of stuff! I haven’t decided which tutorial I’m going with yet, but I wanted to share a few with you. If you have some old suitcases lying around, I would try this out. You can also get them for pretty cheap at a yard sale/ estate sale/ thrift store. Just make sure they have a flat top so you can balance whatever it is you want to put on top.

Image belongs to Slap Dash Mom

Image belongs to Slap Dash Mom

DIY Suitcase Table tutorial from Slap Dash Mom – Sadie – who runs the blog and created the tutorial – used an old suitcase she had ($2), two packs of screws ($1.96), paint samples ($2.98) and plywood ($8) for this project. She also used pages from an old book as the lining, since the original lining was falling apart. Sadie not only offers plenty of craft tutorials and recipes on her blog, she also offers blogging resources, such as tips on how to earn money with your blog.

Image belongs to Lark and Lola

Image belongs to Lark and Lola

Suitcase Table Tutorial from Lark and Lola – This is a step-by-step tutorial, along with photos. There are a lot more tutorials, like adorable tea towels on her blog and Heather, who runs the blog, shares photos from all of the parties she throws. And you can find a recipe for fudge too! Mmm…I love fudge.

Image belongs to Lana Red

Image belongs to Lana Red

Suitcase Side Table Tutorial from Lana Red – Now, this is just what I wanted to see. She used old table legs, repainted them, and attached the suitcase to the legs. PERFECT! She used the table to hold her plants, but also showed that the straps inside the top can also be used to hold photos. She shares a lot more tutorials, like her beautiful bottle lamp and recipes that will make anyone get a sweet tooth, like a carrot cake recipe that is already making me hungry. Her blog is super neat and I highly recommend checking it out!

So, I’m completely motivated and inspired to get my project going, and I can’t wait to share it with you. If you have a fun suitcase table tutorial you want to share, or you are using one of these tutorials to make your suitcase table, post in the comments or on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram with the hashtag #suitcasetable. Follow me on Pinterest for more thrifty inspiration! Stay thrifty, my friends.

Leave a Reply

