Gettin Fit: Healthy Harvest Recipes

Since we don’t have a lot of coffee shops to choose from around here, Starbucks is the only place to stop to get a little espresso to go. Let’s be honest here, sometimes Folgers just doesn’t cut it. Well, I was doing pretty good at avoiding Starbucks for a while. It’s on the way to and from the freeway, so that is a challenge. But then, they had to go and bring back all of the pumpkin spice treats. Thanks a lot, Starbucks! Not only is it hurting my wallet, it’s also hindering my weight loss/ clean eating lifestyle. Luckily, there are plenty of pumpkin recipes you can make at home that are not only delicious, but are also healthy.

Image belongs to The Gracious Pantry

Image belongs to The Gracious Pantry

Clean Eating Pumpkin Pie Creamer from The Gracious Pantry – I really do try to venture out and find new websites to get clean eating recipes from, but when you have such a good thing going on, why mess it up? What I love the most about recipes from The Gracious Pantry is that she uses normal ingredients that I can find anywhere. We’re a one car family and I don’t drive. There is no way I’m getting my boyfriend to take me to anything that resembles a health food store, so I need to be able to get the ingredients at a grocery store.

Have you had those pumpkin muffins from Starbucks? My most favorite thing in the world is a pumpkin muffin with a pumpkin spice latte. Yes, I really do love pumpkin. Like, a lot. Well, here’s a recipe that is a little healthier, and a whole lot cheaper, to make.

Image belongs to Little Mouse's House

Image belongs to Little Mouse’s House

Clean Pumpkin Walnut Muffins from Little Mouse’s House – These may not have the delightful cream cheese frosting in the middle of them, but that’s for the best. I make muffins every week and eat them for breakfast every morning. They’re easy to make and literally require no work during the week. Just what I love. Sometimes I’ll even get to have a cup of coffee and muffin before the little one awakes, but that’s extremely rare.

And if you are still missing that cream cheese frosting, I found a recipe that still uses cream cheese, but much less sugar.

Image belongs to Clean Eating In Texas

Image belongs to Clean Eating In Texas

{Clean Eating} Cream Cheese Frosting from Clean Eating in Texas – I have been able to get most of the recipes I use past the taste buds of my pickiest eater, my boyfriend. He’s not picky when it comes to “bad food,” but he sure is when it comes to the good stuff. Since this recipe still uses cream cheese, I’m sure I can get this one by him too. I’m not even going to tell him it’s the healthier version (although I’m sure he’ll know), I’m just going to see what he says. HA!

So, if you are like me, and go pumpkin crazy at Starbucks, these recipes should make it easier to make the same stuff at home. The ingredients may cost a lost at first if you don’t already have the stuff, but it will save you money in the long run. I was overwhelmed at the cost at first, then I realized that most of these ingredients are used in several dishes. You just need to find whole, good food that can be used in a variety of dishes.

What’s your favorite recipe that you want to see “cleaned up?” Let me know and I will either find a good recipe for you, or attempt it myself. Share your favorite healthy harvest recipes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram with the hashtag #healthyharvest. You can find more healthy harvest inspiration on my Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

