Yo Momma Monday: Amy Christie

yo momma monday

Amy Christie, 31, is the wonderful mind behind the this heart of mine blog. She has two adorable kids, and when she’s not busy taking care of them, she makes all sorts of good stuff, from yummy food like the strawberry shortcake from scratch that I featured in the weekly treat, to beautiful polymer works of art.

Image belongs to Amy Christie

Image belongs to Amy Christie

Anytime I see a mom who is able to do her artwork from home while raising her children, I have to find out how they do it. So I contacted her to find out more about her and her life, and this is what she had to say.

Describe a typical day.

The house wakes up. It’s breakfast time and I try to sneak in some emailing too. The morning is filled with lots of different things – playing, outdoor activities, beach play, creating, prepping posts, project creation, etc. We have lunch (and on beach days, we eat at the beach!). Our afternoons are usually spent at home, stilling playing and creating with a nap thrown in here and there. My husband gets home and we have dinner. Then it is the bath time/bedtime rush. When the children are in bed, I finish up posts, edit photos and brainstorm. I usually go to bed late which makes the morning come too quickly. ๐Ÿ™‚

Family-Photos-9

Image belongs to Amy Christie

When did you start crafting?

I grew up in a creative household, my mom encouraged lots of creative activity.

What was the first craft project that you did, and how did it turn out?

Probably something for my cardboard Barbie house.

What about baking/cooking?

I love baking and cooking. Again, I grew up on homemade food and continue that in my own home.

What is the one treat that you always get asked to make?

Nothing specific. Home-cooked food is very appreciated though, desserts especially.

Image belongs to Amy Christie

Image belongs to Amy Christie

How often do you spend each week on crafting and baking?

Not sure, I don’t keep track, but probably a good chunk of my time since we have to eat every day and my job is to create content. ๐Ÿ™‚

What is the most challenging thing about balancing work and play with your kids?

The most challenging part is the balancing – how to get everything done, get everyone’s needs met all while trying to take care of myself. It’s a daily battle.

What projects are you currently working on?

Lots of things!! Recipes to share, projects and DIYs to post and we have a few house projects going on as well. Lots to do.

How did you get into photography?

I’ve always appreciated it. My mom had a 35mm when I was growing up and we talked about the points of good photos. I bought my own 35mm when I graduated high school and after my daughter was born, got my first DSLR. I am self taught but I learned how to take photos the way I want them to look and I like that.

What is the favorite craft that you’ve done?

There are so many!! Recently I finished pallet shelves for my work space and I’m fairly enamored with them right now.

Image belongs to Amy Christie

Image belongs to Amy Christie

What is the best and most challenging part of being a mom of two?

The busyness and noise. There is always something happening and it’s usually at top volume.

What inspires/motivates you?

Making is what I do, it’s how I’m wired. I don’t feel complete if I don’t get to create. I stay inspired by taking time to brainstorm, getting outside, away from my desk and doing projects that are just for me. It’s hard. Sometimes I feel tapped out but if I step away, I come back inspired.

What is your favorite piece of decor in your home and why? Any pictures of it that you want to share?

Like I mentioned above, the pallet shelves I just finished are my current favorite. They were fun to make and an experiment that what I envisioned was possible. Here’s the link to their reveal. http://www.thisheartofmineblog.com/2013/07/22/work-space-update-new-pallet-shelves/

Image belongs to Amy Christie

Image belongs to Amy Christie

Favorite room in the house and why

I like our kitchen/living/dining area. Lots of things happen in that space. It’s where our little family hangs out at the end of the day, it’s where our friends gather and good food is shared plus our couch is really comfy.

What book are you reading right now? Ever thought of doing an online book club?

No online book club but I’m reading a handful right now. How To Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran, The Host by Stephanie Meyer and The Upside of Irrationality by Dan Ariely.

Where do you hope to see your art and blog go next? What are your plans for the future?

Like most businesses, I want to grow and expand. I have steps in mind, hopes and dreams and I’m excited for the adventure. I feel so blessed to be able to create for a living.

You can find out more about Amy Christie, her recipes, and her art at this heart of mine. If you know of any cool moms (yourself included) who would be awesome for this, please feel free to leave a brief description and contact info in the comments. You can also email me at mamabecrafty@gmail.com. It has been so amazing getting to know all of these inspirational and rad mommas!

3 thoughts on “Yo Momma Monday: Amy Christie

  1. Pingback: Thrifty Thursdays: Holiday Edition! | from house parties to housewife

Leave a Reply

