Thrifty Thursdays

thrifty thursdays

At this point, I have over two bins full of clothes that Cecilia doesn’t wear anymore. I keep trying to give them away or donate them, but I fear that it will be just my luck to have another girl and have zero clothes for her. And we all know how expensive baby clothes are! So, I’ve started to go through all of the clothes for her to pick out some that I wasn’t a fan of to make for some more room.

Here’s the other problem that I have. I’m not a big “bow” girl. I don’t like wearing them, and I don’t see the point of putting them on my baby when a) I’m not sure she will even have enough hair to clip, and b) she will pull them off in a flash. I already know that. But, I always seem to get the response “he’s so cute!” when we go out. Biased or not, she doesn’t look like a boy. Sure, she has no hair and sometimes I put her in blue, because I’m also not a big “pink” girl, but she clearly doesn’t look like a boy.

However, I have found something that will solve both of my problems….repurposing headbands out of old clothes! I’ve already picked out some of her outfits that I probably would not use again, and I think this is what I’ll be doing with them. Here are some cool tutorials on how to do that.

Image belongs to Culture

Image belongs to Cultured

DIY: Baby Turban Headband from Cultured – Dana posted a detailed and photographed step-by-step process for making both a baby and an adult turban headband, which I could totally be into wearing one as well. Not a matching one, though. That, I am not into. This is a really awesome blog ran by two ladies, Dana and Blake, and they share tutorials, recipes and fashion inspiration. I love this new find.

6983433597_e3d383da40_o

Image belongs to Alisa Burke

upcycled baby headbands from alisa burke – I have used this website before for inspiration, and I still love it the same. She has so many tutorials and her experience as a freelance painter and mixed media artist shows in her work. I feel so inspired when I go through all of her stuff, and I get a lot of ideas!

Image belongs to beck-a-boo

Image belongs to beck-a-boo

DIY Baby Headband from beck-a-boo: This headband was made out of tights, which works perfectly, because we have about 20 pairs of tights since Cecilia was born in December, and I can remember her wearing them once. For about twenty minutes. On Christmas. Then she was over it…and so was I. There are a lot of different recipes and tutorials on this blog and they’re worth checking out!

I absolutely cannot wait to try making these headbands and see how they turn out. I’m more excited to see how long they will last on baby girl’s head. For more baby headband, check out my Pinterest. Have a fun baby headband tutorial or did you make one using these tutorials? If so, post in the comments and share on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram with the hashtag #diybabyheadband

Leave a Reply

