Interview with Ashley Lynch

Image belongs to Ashley Lynch

Image belongs to Ashley Lynch

Last week, I wrote about a new website I found with plenty of healthy recipe and workout inspirations, Whole Foods…New Body. Well, I was able to catch up with Ashley Lynch, the author of the blog, and I asked her some questions about her daily routine and how she gets inspiration for her recipes and workouts.

I’m always interested in seeing how fellow moms fit in working out and cooking on a daily basis when they have little ones running around and it always gives me new ideas for developing new healthy habits (and hopefully getting rid of the bad ones).

Did you want to be a Nurse when you were growing up? What motivated you to follow that career? Growing up, I always knew I wanted to be in the medical profession.  I always loved the thought of being able to take care of others. I could not be more glad that nursing is the profession I chose to pursue. There is nothing better than knowing you made a difference in someone’s life.

How do you manage being both a Nurse and a stay-at-home mom? I knew that when I had children…I wanted to stay at home and take care of them. Luckily, nursing is the perfect career to have because I am allowed to work only a few days a month to keep my license active. I get to stay at home with my babies and still spend a few days a month taking care of patients and maintaining my skills. This is the perfect set up for me right now and I know once my babies are in school…I can easily go back to working full time.

Have you always been interested in health and fitness? I haven’t always been interested in health and fitness. Of course I have always cared about health (being a nurse) but I wouldn’t say that I applied that knowledge to my own life until I had children. I guess I realized at that time that I need to step it up and start paying attention to what foods I put in their body. It wasn’t until January of this year that I really starting caring what I put in my own body and starting adding fitness into my life.

Funny how our children usually make us start looking at what we’re eating, huh? I felt the same way when I realized I would be the vessel through which my baby would get food. If she was eating poorly, that would be my fault. That’s when I decided that we needed to change our eating habits now.

Image belongs to Ashley Lynch

Image belongs to Ashley Lynch

 

With all the diets out there, why did you choose clean eating? I chose clean eating because I was tired of “dieting” and I wanted to way of eating that made sense. It makes sense to me to eat REAL, unprocessed foods. I know that this is the way I will eat the rest of my life. I don’t want to ever go back to putting a ton of chemicals and processed foods into my body. I love the way I feel and I don’t think I will ever give that up!

Did you come up with your recipes or do you find inspiration in other sites? I actually do both. I am addicted to Pinterest and healthy living blogs! I make a TON of recipes from others and that inspires me to get creative and come up with my own recipes. It is actually a lot of fun for me and I LOVE to cook!

What are your favorite Clean Eating resource sites? I love “The Gracious Pantry,” “He and She Eat Clean,” &  The “EatCleanDiet” website, Those are all of the sites that helped me start out with eating clean and figuring out what it was all about.

Those are all the same websites I use! I’m in love with The Gracious Pantry but I’ve used recipes from He and She Eat Clean and EatCleanDiet before.

Are you the cook in your household or does everyone help? I am definitely the “cook” in my household. My husband works a lot so I definitely do all the cooking. He is great at grilling though…that is definitely more his territory!

How do your children like your meals? (I see that your daughter is a fan of the zucchini bread, which I need to try!) My husband is a HUGE fan of my cooking. He is always brave enough to try anything that I give him and almost always loves it. My kids are pretty good about eating whatever I give them. They both love fruit and I have found creative ways to get them to eat veggies. My 18 month old loves avocado, beans and bread. I just put whatever I make in front of them and try not to pressure them to eat it. My motto is that if they are hungry…they will eat. I want them to learn to eat when they are hungry and stop when they are full.

What are your favorite workout sites and why? I love Bikini Body Mommy. She was a huge motivation for me to start working out. I actually just completed my 2nd Bikini Body Mommy 90 day challenge. I also love Beachbody workouts. My favorites are Focus T25, Chalean Extreme and Turbofire. Pinterest also has a lot of great, quick workouts to mix in.

Image belongs to Ashley Lynch

Image belongs to Ashley Lynch

Do you involve your kids in your workouts? My 4 year old loves to workout with me! She is pretty tough! She almost always right by my side while I am working out.

Favorite workout gear? Favorite workout gear would be my neoprene weights, Asics tennis shoes, Champion sports bra, and Mossimo yoga crops.

Any advice for stay-at-home moms trying to eat healthy and workout every day? My advice would be to make it a priority. Find a time to workout that works for you and stick with it at least 6 days a week. My time is when I lay my 18 month old down for his morning nap. I know that is workout time. No excuses. For healthy eating….READ, READ, READ! Follow healthy living blogs and get ideas for snacks and meals and just do it!! Start slow, fill your house with healthy food and throw out all the junk! If you only have healthy food in your house….that is what you will eat!

I am a firm believer in finding a workout time and sticking with it! I have such a hard time with it, but when I don’t do it, I feel crappy. Setting times helps you stay on track, for sure. I also agree with starting slow and replenishing your pantry and fridge with good stuff!

Image belongs to Ashley Lynch

Image belongs to Ashley Lynch

Any projects you are working on that you would like to share? Since I just finished my 90 day challenge…I am starting out with a whole new fitness regimen. I am really excited about starting something new. Stay tuned for details! 😉

What motivates you every day? What motivates me is the way I feel. I feel great and I don’t want to start feeling lethargic again! I also like putting on clothes and feeling good about myself. I used to try on a million different outfits and leave the house in tears. I don’t want to EVER go back to that again!

If you choose to have a cheat meal, what do you normally go for? My cheat meal is almost always sushi and frozen yogurt or ice cream!

This was a really good interview and I loved reading all of her tips and advice for maintaining a healthy lifestyle! You can visit her blog at Whole Foods…New Body and you can find her on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

Who inspires you to keep living healthy? Whether they motivate you to eat better or workout more, I would love to know! Share in the comments and on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram with the hashtag #healthmotivator and maybe I can score an interview with them, too! Check out my Pinterest for more healthy inspiration!

Leave a Reply

