Thrifty Thursdays

thrifty thursdays

Wallets! I love wallets. They can literally hold your entire life in just one pouch, which might be why they can be so dang expensive when you need a new one! I’ve been using my grandma’s old wallet for a long time, but I think it’s more intended for people who have money, and cards to use. And frankly, I don’t have any of that!

So, I was looking into getting something a little smaller that doesn’t take a whole lot of space. And since my daughter’s diaper backpack is doing double-duty as my purse, I want to be able to hold all my stuff in one pocket if need be. So, I looked up how to make your own wallet, and there are some pretty cool ideas out there!

Image belongs to Imagine Fabric

Image belongs to Imagine Fabric

How to Sew a Wristlet, by Imagine Fabric: Appropriately named, Imagine Fabric is an online fabric store that also offers tutorials on how to make items by hand. This wristlet tutorial is very detailed, and has pictures for every step, which I love and need. And their fabric is super cute too! Both are worth checking out.

Image belongs to Noodlehead

Image belongs to Noodlehead

Zippy Wallet Tutorial from Noodlehead: I found this cool tutorial from another awesome site, How About Orange, which I found on Pinterest. Did I mention how much I love Pinterest? This is another detailed tutorial, with pictures for each step. You have no idea how many tutorials I come across with no pictures. I NEED PICTURES! She also has tutorials for diaper pouches and other fun stuff, it’s totally cute.

Patchwork-y Bifold Wallet Tutorial

Image belongs to All wrapped up

Patchwork-y Bifold Wallet Tutorial from All wrapped up: Mel, who runs this blog, lives in Melbourne, Australia and is a fourth year medical student! Maybe that’s why her tutorial was so detailed and awesome! She has a lot of different craft tutorials on her blog, and she also has an account at Cut Out & Keep, another awesome resource if you haven’t checked it out yet.

I hope you have enjoyed these wallet tutorials and that you check out all of the blogs I linked. They are definitely worth it. I can already see my mom cringing at the thought of having to do another project that I get frustrated at and give up. But  hopefully that won’t happen…again! I’m working at clearing out the craft side of the room so it can be more reserved for my daughter and less for crafts! So hopefully I’ll be posting some new projects soon. Hopefully.

Please feel free to share any DIY wallet ideas in the comments here or on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram with the hashtag #diywallet. And check out my Pinterest for more DIY wallet tutorials!

One thought on “Thrifty Thursdays

  1. This is a cute idea. I like a coin purse or wallet just like this because I can carry it around without having to carry my entire purse if I want to.

Leave a Reply

