This week at the weekly treat

weekly treat

Anyone who knows me knows my insane love for avocado. I’ve gone through the avocado on toast for every meal phase at various points of my life, and when times have gotten rough, I’ve been known to eat avocado with a fork and some black pepper. That being said, I still have yet to use it in any of my baking recipes. Silly, I know.

Here are some amazing looking treat recipes that use the beloved avocado:

Avocado-Cupcakes-4-willcookforsmiles.com_

Image belongs to Will Cook for Smiles

Avocado Cupcakes from Will Cook for Smiles – This is actually the picture that inspired this week’s treat. I love just about anything that comes in the form of a cupcake, and I love avocado more than cupcakes. So to me, this is the perfect pairing. I think the only problem I’ll have is the ability to keep an avocado long enough to bake with it.

Image belongs with A Dash of Compassion

Image belongs with A Dash of Compassion

Gluten-free chocolate avocado cupcakes from A Dash of Compassion – I love myself a good vegan recipe. But sometimes, there are a bunch of ingredients that I’m starting to believe don’t actually exist, and it gets both exhausting and obnoxious. Luckily, this recipe has none of that. Now, I’m not a big fan of gluten free flour, so I’ll stick to my whole wheat flour for this recipe. But if you do enjoy the gluten free way of life, you can definitely follow the recipe for the flour at the bottom.

avocadoicecream_zps79aa087e

Image belongs to Some the Wiser

Avocado Ice Cream from Some the Wiser – When I was pregnant last year, I was ADDICTED to frozen yogurt. It was insane. Whenever we passed by somewhere that had frozen yogurt – we had to stop. And when frozen yogurt wasn’t around, I happily settled for ice cream. My obsession got so deep that I bought an ice cream maker. Only thing is, I’m pretty sure it doesn’t work. So, once I get this whole frozen yogurt/ ice cream making thing under my belt, I’m making this. And then gaining a subsequent 20 lbs.

DSC_0009-1-1

Image belongs to the lone home ranger

homemade avocado nutella from the lone home ranger – I love chocolate so much, I would put it on everything if I could. Now, it can’t be that stinky ol milk chocolate, I will have none of that. Only dark chocolate for me. I can’t wait to make this spread and put it on my toast in the morning. Maybe I could use this spread and then top it with even more avocado? Hmm….

If you want to add to our weekly treat group, find us on Facebook. Share your favorite avocado treat recipe in the comments or on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram using the hashtag #avocadotreats. You can find more of my avocado inspiration on Pinterest.

Now go get some avocados! STAT!

One thought on “This week at the weekly treat

Leave a Reply

