Thrifty Thursdays

thrifty thursdays

I love thrifting. I love the feeling I get when I find something amazing that you just don’t really see anymore. I love getting old clothes and thinking about all of the ways I can transform them into something new (actually doing it is another story) and I love finding out stories behind antiquated items. And I love the word antiquated. But what always creeps me out is old silverware.

I don’t know what it is, but there’s something about eating off something that has been around the block that I don’t like. Sure, I go to restaurants and eat off that silverware, but for some reason…I just can’t bring myself to buy old, beautiful silverware.

Luckily, there is something I can do with all that wonderful silverware. Turn it into jewelry, yo!

Untitled-6

Image belongs to Kristen Danielle Design

Spoon Ring Tutorial by Through the Front Door: I found this image while perusing the Pinterest. It took a little tracking down, but I was finally able to find the source of this tutorial, Through the Front Door/ Kristen Danielle Design! Hooray! She has a bunch of DIY and craft stuff on her blog, and it’s truly inspiring to look at. This tutorial was found through More Design Please, one of my favorites.

6371102775_93c5c804a3

Image belongs to Stars for Streetlights

How to Make a Fork Bracelet by Stars for Streetlights – When I started blogging, and following blogs, this was one of the very first blogs that I followed. I fell in love with it, and then almost completely forgot about it until I saw this tutorial on Pinterest. Thank you, Pinterest, for bringing the love back to me! This post also offers a video tutorial on how to do them, and you can check out her super cute style, to boot.

And as an added little bonus for you, remember those super sweet free e-books I posted about a while back? Well, Tiffany Warble from Cloth Paper Scissors contacted me and wanted me to share two free e-books with y’all!

block-and-lino-printing-2

Image belongs to Cloth Paper Scissors

Relief and Block Printing Techniques from Cloth Paper Scissors – I never got into relief and block printing, but this looks awesome! I absolutely cannot wait to try it and see what I cool little blocks I can make with these! They would be a perfect addition to Cecilia’s room, and if I get really good at it, I could make some little building blocks for her. Cool!

sewing-for-kids

Image belongs to Sew Daily

Children’s Sewing Patterns from Sew Daily – This free e-book includes four free sewing patterns for kids, and they’re all so very cute! Looks like I have some sewing to practice….

This is totally getting me all jazzed up for crafty day on Saturday! If you have some silverware jewelry to share, please post in the comments or share your photo or link on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram and use the hashtag #silverwarejewelry. Find more thrifty inspiration on Pinterest page. And happy thrifting!

Leave a Reply

