Fridays are for Favorites

fridays are for favorites

Hello everyone! I hope you had a wonderful 4th of July! This week has been sort of insane and it’s just now slowing down and getting back to normal. I started school a couple weeks ago and just now got my book, so lots of catching up to do! I woke up feeling refreshed today and was able to get a lot done this morning, so now it’s time to relax a little and do one of my most favorite things…blog!

My boyfriend’s sister is expecting her first child any time now. He was due yesterday, but he ultimately decided that he didn’t want to share his birthday with America, so he’s going to wait it out a little. At least I think that’s what’s going on. I don’t know, though. Babies don’t have the Facebook app.

She decorated his room SO incredibly cute! It’s an eclectic mix of vintage, schoolhouse and boy stuff. It’s really cute and it fits her style, too. She included deer antlers in the decoration (not big ol honkin ones, just this one small antler that they found at a street fair) and it fits in there perfectly.

This got me thinking about what other cute deer antler stuff there is out there. Now, I’m not a huge fan of antlers because it always makes me think of what the people had to do to get the antlers. But, I’m really intrigued with how they look. So I found some really cool stuff to do with the antlers, and with the antler design if you don’t want the real deal. Here are my favorites.

il_570xN.411893671_9v1z

Image belongs to SelaVeeCo

Medium Deer Antler – Argentine Design by SelaVeeCo – This antler is available at SelaVeeCo’s store on Etsy.  The store is owned by Hannah Loumeau Leonard, a studio artist, and there are several other designs available. It’s $50 and is painted with acrylic and sealed with a varnish twice. Her store is really cute and she also has cards and prints available!

Image belongs to JC McCairn

Image belongs to JC McCairn

Modern Tribal Deer Antler Statement Necklace by JC McCairn – Charity, who owns this store, noted that all of the deer antlers that she sells at her store were all found in the woods. No animals were harmed in order to get these antlers. That makes me feel really good. Her store has all sorts of accessories that use hand painted antlers and it’s definitely cool to check out. This necklace is $40 and every item is one-of-a kind.

il_570xN.249636742

Image belongs to KCJO

Custom painted vintage suitcase by KCJO – Ok, so at $150, it’s a little out of my price range. I think it’s beautiful, I just can’t afford stuff like that, especially since I’m not going anywhere anytime soon! But, if you do travel, or you like to use vintage suitcases as decor in your house, this would be super cool to have in your house! Casey, who owns the store, said they also work great as gifts, for graduation or something like that. She has a lot of cool pop art in her store that is worth checking out.

Image belongs to ballpoint + pen

Image belongs to ballpoint + pen

Stenciled deer home decor from ballpoint+pen: Ali, who runs this blog, shared a tutorial on how to make this awesome deer stencil. She used an old painting and got the stencil from ManMade, and then painted it on the old painting. I love it and I have about one million old paintings that I don’t use and this would look totally awesome on there. Now I’m thinking of all the possibilities I can do! The inspiration is out of control right now!

What are your thoughts on deer antlers? Love them or leave them? Do you have a fun deer antler project or decor that you want to share? Post in the comments or share on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram with the hashtag #ohdeer. And as always, see what inspires me the most on my Pinterest!

Leave a Reply

