This Week at the Weekly Treat

weekly treat

So this week’s inspiration was pretty easy to come up with…4th of July! With this heat and Cecilia’s cousin on the way, we will probably not be able to BBQ this time around, but I’m pretty sure I will be eating yummy treats, no matter what happens.

DS8472_Allen

Image belongs to Eating Well

Mini Berry Cream Pies from Eating Well – This recipe uses whipping cream, nonfat greek yogurt and frozen phyllo cups. It says the recipe only takes about 15 minutes to finish, so it should be relatively easy to get done, and no baking is involved! Perfect weapon against this insane heat.

I have to admit something. I HATE greek yogurt. Crazy, right? I used to tolerate it until I got pregnant and then the smell nearly doubled me over, and I could no longer partake. So if I do go with this one, I’ll have to use regular ol boring yogurt. Womp womp…

red-white-and-blue-cupcake-cones

Image belongs to Love from the Oven

Red White and Blue Ice Cream Cupcake Cones from Love From the Oven – Whoooa. I can’t even explain how amazingly delicious these look right now. It’s literally a scoop of ice cream, a cupcake and an ice cream cone. I’m not normally a fan of ice cream cones, but I am a fan of anything that holds cupcakes. I would have to say that my sprinkling would definitely not come out like this – or anywhere close to this, to be honest – but hey, it’s worth a shot!

pretzels7

Image belongs to Cupcakes and Cashmere

Chocolate-Dipped Pretzels from Cupcakes and Cashmere – If you are like me, and love a little salty to be mixed with your sweet, then you are also swooning over these pretzels! They would also be cute treats to pass around if we end up at the hospital on 4th of July! (for Cecilia’s cousin of course, I’m not planning on any injuries)

DSC_0102

Image belongs to Twig & Thistle

Chocolate Dipped Rice Krispie “Popsicles” from Twig & Thistle – Apparently I’m on a serious chocolate-dipped kick right now! Which isn’t a bad thing at all. Except for that whole pesky diet thing. But like they say, holidays are designated cheat days!

How-to-make-a-tie-die-cake-Easy-tutorial-8

Image belongs to Sally’s Baking Addiction

Tye-Dyed cake from Sally’s Baking Addiction – Now, I will have to say that I’m not usually a fan of making cake different colors. Don’t get me wrong, I will tye-dye the heck out of anything. Except baked goods. But once I saw that Sally did it on my most favorite baking site in the whole wide world, I figured it was OK. This might be something fun to try when Cecilia is a little older. I’ll probably like dying cakes a lot more when my baby is old enough to enjoy it.

If you love baking and want to add to our weekly collection, visit our group on Facebook. You can share your 4th of July treat pictures by posting them and using the hashtag #theweeklytreat on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Check out more 4th of July treat inspiration on my Pinterest page.

Leave a Reply

