Thrifty Thursdays

thrifty thursdays

So, my next crafty project that I am working on is this old barn window that I am turning into a cork board. Since I haven’t done any cork board projects yet, I thought I would see what goes into making your very own cork board!

IMG_4421

I checked out a few tutorials, and I must admit…some of them were pretty janky. Now, they would be fine to just hang in your house and I think that’s what a lot of people end up doing with their corkboards. But I’m looking for something that would be pretty enough for people to feel inspired when they see it, so inspired that they want to purchase it!

5685489725_ef3dd66713

Image belongs to House of Hepworths

Handmade cork board tutorial by House of Hepworths – Allison, who runs this blog, used an old frame that she had, a foam board, a cork roll and a utility knife to cut the foam board and cork roll to fit. She also used glue but said that spray adhesive would probably be better, she just didn’t have any. You can find the full tutorial by clicking on the link.

Now, I went through a lot of good tutorials, but that was one of the only ones I could find that used an old frame without a backing. She hot glued the cork board to the frame so I might try that. Or I might check into some other creative ways to keep the cork board in. I found a natural cork roll for $10.24 at Amazon that I will need to get.

Other tutorials attached the cork material to either a thick and strong cardboard, or plywood. So I will be looking into all of these options to see what I like the best.

6067361606_392f23115a

Image belongs to Brooklyn Limestone

Seating chart tutorial by Brooklyn Limestone – Stefanie, who runs this blog, used a canvas as a backing for the cork board. She also used a drop cloth and a t-shirt transfer to complete her project. This was used for a seating chart, but you could really use it for anything you wanted once the project was done.

lr_CorkBoards_2-961x1024

Image belongs to Paint me Plaid

DIY Cork Board Memo Hoops from Paint me Plaid – I found this blog from another radical blog called Scissors and Thread. Charlotte from Paint me Plaid used embroidery hoops and Folk Art paint to complete this project. She used painting tape to make the separate colors look nice and pleasing to the eye. I love them and totally want to paint some Cecilia’s room/my office!

diymemoboard

Image belongs to Infarrantly Creative

Decorative Corkboard Memo Board by Infarrantly Creative – You can even transform an old serving tray into a cork board! I smell something and it’s the scent of a new project! She glued the cork board to her tray and then she used burlap to cover the cork board. I never got into burlap but with all these projects I’m seeing with burlap, I think I’m missing out on something.

And for the super talented/adventurous crafters….

Imaginative Girls Bedroom @vintage revivals[2]

Image belongs to Vintage Revivals

DIY Corkboard Wall Mural Bulldog Style by Vintage Revivals – Let me just get one thing straight here. I love painting more than anything in the world, aside from my family, frozen yogurt and cupcakes, but there is no way in hell I would ever attempt this. I’m sure when Cecilia is of the age where she can tell me what craziness she wants in her room, just like I told my mom, I will have to do something like this. Luckily, I have a few years of practice before this topic arises. Given the way she is developing though, it could be a few months. Girl needs to slow her roll. Seriously.

So, I’m feeling well-equipped with loads of information to get this project done! If you have any cork board projects you want to share, post in the comments or share it on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter with the hashtag #diycorkboard. You can also check out my Pinterest for more inspiration on corkboard projects.

One thought on “Thrifty Thursdays

  1. This is my own first time i visit here. I discovered so many engaging stuff with your blog, especially its debate. From the plenty of comments on your posts, I assume I am not the only one having all of the enjoyment the following! Keep up the superb work.

Leave a Reply

