Fridays are for Favorites

fridays are for favorites

I was lucky enough to get my dresser free from a friend a couple years ago. It has been in many a house and has treated me well. But now, parts are falling off and now that I share a dresser with my boyfriend, it’s not able to hold all of our stuff. Yeah, that’s right. I share a dresser and a closet with my boyfriend. Do you know how many clothes I had to donate/hide under my bed to get to this point? A lot.

Back to the point. We’re in the market for a new dresser, but that market better be the flea market! Luckily, there seems to be a rising trend in painting your dresser and there are actually some pretty cool designs. Again, I’m sharing a dresser with my boyfriend and I don’t think we’ll be getting his and hers anytime soon, so I need a design that will suit both of us. Like, I can’t reason with him that we need another thing with an owl painted on it.

So, I’ve done my research (ie…looked at Pinterest while feeding my baby and drinking coffee), and these are my favorite painted dressers.

1112

Image belongs to Potholes & Pantyhose

Silver painted dresser from Potholes & Pantyhose – Rebekah from Potholes and Pantyhose refinished a dresser with silver metallic paint she got from Lowe’s. She used a foamy brush so she wouldn’t get the normal brush stroke. This dresser was part of a master bedroom remodel. She also writes about different crafts and offers tutorials on her site. Definitely worth checking out. I love when I find new sites like this!

039

Image belongs to retropolitan

Chevron painted dresser from retropolitan: Erika decided to paint vertical chevron lines instead of the normal horizontal design. She initially painted bold white lines, then decided those didn’t fit the dresser and distressed them a little with a sanding block. She has a whole bunch of DIY remodeling projects that she writes about on her blog so if you’re feeling that your house needs a little uplift, check her blog out.

IMG_3300

Image belongs to Holly Do

License plate dresser from hollydo.blogspot.com – Now, I found this site from a different dresser, and kind of fell in love. To say my boyfriend loves old cars is an understatement. He lives for them. And sometimes I feel like going to a swap meet or two with him. When you’re a stay at home mom without a vehicle, you really will take any opportunity you can to get out of the house. And I love old bikes…so it all works out. Well, there are plenty of old license plates at the swap meets, so this would be a relatively cheap and fun project! It should also be noted that this blog is a wonderland when it comes to repurposing dressers and desks. And she’s from Elk Grove, which is right by where I live!

Image belongs to Itsy Bits and Pieces

Image belongs to Itsy Bits and Pieces

Car door and window handles from Itsy Bits and Pieces – This would go perfectly with the old car theme for the dresser! The whole blog is dedicating to decorating and repurposing with vintage finds, so it’s definitely a resource to check out. They even used a gas pump as a hook on the wall! What?!

dresser 7

Image belongs to She Makes a Home

Dresser remodel from She Makes a Home – Well, I just fell in love. I love everything about this. I love the style of the dresser and I love the way she painted it. Ashley’s blog has a corresponding magazine and she offers a free “Breakthrough Boot Camp” e-course for work-at-home moms and creatives. Definitely going to check all that out!

Ok, which dresser was your favorite? Did you repurpose a dresser and want to share your project? Post in the comments!

Leave a Reply

