gettin fit: journey to the Skirt/ 365 days of yoga

Current weight: 152

Goal for the week: No butter (replace with oil)/ Yoga practice in the morning and night

journey to the skirt

I DID IT!!! I went an entire week without drinking any soda, gosh dang it! Yesterday, I was really put to the test when I had only two hours of sleep and woke up to zero coffee in the container. And I can’t even blame my lack of sleep on Cecilia, she slept all night. I started having charlie horses in my legs like I did during the last trimester of my pregnancy and couldn’t sleep.

I’ve heard it’s common to get them again because of all the strain you’re putting on your body from carrying your baby around all day. But it’s not like I’m going to quit carrying my baby, so I will just have to deal. I didn’t have any bananas, so I was just up watching late night TV until I fell asleep.

Back to the point. I was so very tempted to drink a soda but I instead opted for a lemonade. I know that’s not a whole lot better, but it didn’t have any high fructose corn syrup and I needed something. I had water but that wasn’t doing the trick. I needed some caffeine. Anyone who says they live completely caffeine free is awesome…and most likely not a new mom.

As for the butter, I’ve never been a huge butter fan. The only time I use butter is when I’m baking. I’ve always used olive oil when I cooked because I watched my dad do that. I honestly didn’t even know that butter was used for cooking until I moved in with my last roommates. Honest. But baking will be hard, so I’ll need to think of yummy oils to use so everyone can still enjoy all my treats! Mainly, so I can still enjoy them.

My yoga routine has turned out to be a big help. It’s kind of funny. At first, I was just doing yoga to help tone my body and started doing it every day because I told myself I would. While I love yoga, it started out as something I had to do. Then, it turned into something I needed to do. My mornings felt off without it.

I have been trying to incorporate a night routine as well, but I feel like that is more difficult. Everyone is home and we’re eating dinner and hanging out together. But I think that yoga at night might actually help stretch out my body and maybe I won’t get such bad leg pains during the night!

With that said, here are some new routines that I found. I’m also doing a yoga challenge through Do You Yoga and I’ll write about it as I’m going through it.

pm-fists-forward-bend-215x300

Image belongs to Gaiam Life

Sadie Nardini from Gaiam Life blog gives a tutorial on Six poses for Insomnia

slide_34042_310496_huge

Image belongs to Huffington Post

The Huffington Post also shared seven poses for insomnia, along with a video tutorial on Yoga Poses for a Better Night’s Sleep

Lastly, I’m signing up for the Eat Clean Diet Makeover Challenge. I still need to do the measurements but I think that will give me the boost I need to get my lifestyle change going. But it could also get annoying, so we’ll see how that goes. I’m also going to write about this experience every Tuesday.

If you are interested in joining me on these challenges, make sure to #365daysofyoga or #sofreshsoclean on your Twitter, Instagram, or both! You can also follow my challenges and get motivation/inspiration/a good laugh on my Facebook page.

2 thoughts on “gettin fit: journey to the Skirt/ 365 days of yoga

Leave a Reply

