Momma’s garden project: Week 11

Remember the red tomato that I wrote about in my blog post about last week?

IMG_3859I pulled it last night and then while I was out in the garden today, another tomato fell right off! So needless to say, the tomatoes are going like crazy last night! Unfortunately for me, I’m not a tomato fan. But I do love salsa! And, this will be perfect time for me to get into canning. Sam also LOVES tomatoes and I’m planning on giving some away to family and friends.IMG_4069

IMG_4068

IMG_4053

The rest of the garden is growing good, too. I was able to pull out the dead plants and the weeds, so all of the resources can be used on the plants that are thriving.

IMG_4065So, in this box we have five different peppers, chives, spinach and broccoli. I was able to spot a few peppers that are almost ready to pluck. And there are a lot that are getting ready to sprout! I am so unbelievably excited about my garden. Like I’ve said before, I have planted herbs and tomatoes before, but nothing ever worked out.

IMG_4055 IMG_4056 IMG_4057 IMG_4058 IMG_4059 IMG_4061 IMG_4063I also have four rows of potatoes. Didn’t quite think about the fact that we’re definitely going to be able to eat four rows worth of potatoes. So…more gifts from the garden for our family and friends! For some silly reason, I forgot to take pictures of them so I will have to update next week. I think I’m going to check them out next Sunday to see if I can pull them. Because that would be awesome.

Then, there is my headache. The compost pile. I’m worried that it will take a while for this stuff to compost, which is fine because we won’t need new soil until next Spring. We have enough to last us until then. But still! I need immediate results!

IMG_4066And with that in mind, this is what I’ve learned from gardening: patience. You have to work with these plants while you wait for them to bloom and you have to take care of them. I can spend a few hours each weekend just pruning everything back and pulling weeds. But my goodness, when that first tomato came in, it all felt worth it. It was so gratifying and I appreciated it so much more because I literally sat and watched tomatoes grow for about three months now.

There is so much more I want to do with my garden, but I know that will all come with time. I’m going to plan everything out, and do it when I can. And that is something I’ve never been able to do before.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Momma’s garden project: Week 11

Leave a Reply

