Fridays are for Favorites

fridays are for favorites

Remember the good ol days before Pinterest? When buying a card and a gift was sufficient enough for Mothers/Fathers Day? While Pinterest is my knowledgeable friend, the only thing in my life that I can count on to give me an awesome design tutorial while planning out my meals for the next – oh, I don’t know – year, it can be a little overwhelming. There are gift ideas for every holiday and I feel compelled to make the best present of the century.

And sometimes my projects fall apart, then I end up with nothing when the day comes. Because, as it would seem, I am incapable of working on anything until I only have a couple hours left to do it. Since this Fathers Day will be full of so many amazing fathers, I figured I needed to get a head-start on the gifts. So…here are my favorite DIY Fathers Day gift ideas!

LetterBlocks_DAD3Photo belongs to Stories by Me

Letter Blocks for Dad tutorial from Stories by Me: (found through Mod Podge Rocks) A good tutorial on how to make personalized blocks for the dad in your life. These don’t have to be for just Fathers Day either. They can be used for Christmas, Birthdays or for any reason you feel like making them. Thinking of actually making some with Cecilia’s initials for her room. How cute would that be! The site also has tutorials and classes to learn how to do other projects like this.

P1030392Photo belongs to Bargain Hoot

Scrabble word letter art tutorial from Bargain Hoot. Rene’ from Bargain Hoot uses a blank background, but you can also check out the tutorial from Just Another Day in Paradise, that uses a picture in the background. I know one very awesome dad who would love a picture of him and his very awesome baby in a frame like this 🙂

free-printable-hostess-fathers-day-gift-hot-saucePhoto belongs to Giver’s Log

Homemade Hot Sauce tutorial from Giver’s Log. AmberLee not only shares a recipe for hot sauce that she got from CITYMAMA, she also shares free printables to put on the jars. It’s a great idea for not only our awesome dads but for anyone who is awesome and loves hot sauce. Like me. I love hot sauce.

chalkboard_mug2Photo belongs to Wit & Whistle

Chalkboard mug tutorial by Wit & Whistle. I have referenced this site a few times before for cool tutorials, so I already know how awesome it is. Again, this mug is not only for Fathers Day, but could really be used for anything. Since all of the fathers in my life drink coffee, I can sure that at least one – if not, all – will get a mug!

grandpa-gift1Photo belongs to The Mombot

BBQ Kit by The Mombot. Another awesome site that I never saw until now. All the fathers in my family love to man the BBQ. I’m a pretty lucky girl, to say the least. They all would love this kit, and maybe I could even screen print a photo of Cecilia on the apron. I pretty much want to screen print a picture of Cecilia on everything I see. Oh, you got a new hand towel? Cool. Do you mind if I screen print my daughter’s face on it? It’s pretty much like that.

If you haven’t started working on the Fathers Day gifts yet, I hope this gives you a push in whichever direction you choose. Like always, feel free to follow my Pinterest for even more Fathers Day ideas! If you have any tutorials or projects you would like to share, post them in the pictures! If you are making any gifts, use #diyfathersday on Instagram, Twitter, or what the heck, both!

Leave a Reply

