Thrifty Thursdays

thrifty thursdays

Last week, my stepsister gave me an old barn window that she was initially planning on selling. I was super excited to get said window as I had been pining over it for a while. Unfortunately, my schedule doesn’t allow for a whole lot of creative time, so it’s been sitting in my boyfriend’s car for a while. I was talking to him about building a bike and he reminded me that I needed to work on that window first.

Hence my inspiration for this week’s Thrifty Thursday post….upcycling barn windows! They can be used as table tops or as a photo display. It’s kind of insane what you could do with barn windows.

Old windows can make….

wpid-Photo-Jul-1-2011-1152-PM3artist inspiration boards, from Pretty Handy Girl

PA140091Jewelry holders, by Here’s to Handy Andy

photo (4)Photo frames, from Linda Peterson Designs

DSC_0036Coffee tables, from tatertots and jello

(guest post from Emily at Martha Shmartha)

Baby Greenhousegreenhouses, from DesignDreams by Anne

So, here’s what I have learned. There are A LOT of stuff you can do with windows. A LOT. The only problem is that not a lot of people are doing tutorials. But there are definitely a lot of sites to look at for inspiration. Hopefully the window will be out of my boyfriend’s car by this weekend and he can stop threatening to throw it over the fence…hopefully.

Have a window project you would like to share? Post in the comments! Check out my Pinterest for more awesome ideas.

Leave a Reply

