Fridays are for Favorites

fridays are for favoritesBefore I got pregnant, I always told myself that I would never be a stay-at-home mom. First of all, I didn’t plan on having children, so that kind of took care of that. But if I did ever have a family, I didn’t want to stay at home. I was going to have my own career. I never wanted to feel like my significant other had any control over me and I always wanted to be able to make my own decisions. I didn’t want to feel trapped…like I was giving up my own life.

Then, I became a stay-at-home mom. And I realized how very wrong my perception was this whole time. Yes, I do spend the majority of my day taking care of my baby and cleaning. But that’s just it. I spend the entire day with my most favorite person in the whole world, my baby. I get to hang out with her, and watch her do everything for the first time. I get to see her personality develop, all while changing her diapers and making what feels like endless bottles of formula.

And, the best part of it all? I didn’t have to give up my life to do this. Sure, I gave up my old life…but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. That’s actually not a bad thing at all. But I didn’t have to give up my life. I have attend school online this whole time (last semester, I took my math final a week after she was born. Totally bombed it, but passed the class nonetheless) so I can finally get my degree and I’m starting Academy of Art in fall. I have started an online art collective and got my first member (my cousin, Heather!) and I’m working on starting a homemade goods business.

This is what inspired my Friday post for this week: Mommy businesses! This is a collection of my favorite sites about starting and maintaining your business from home, whether its blogging, selling goods, or both.4649_106685644277_4376901_nMarketMommy.com – A website dedicated to helping moms market their businesses online.

The blog includes profiles on moms who run their own businesses, and mommy-owned businesses. They also offer marketing and printing services and advertising space. I just found this site on Pinterest and I think I will definitely be visiting often!

HeaderMama-press.com – Website that offers a directory of mom-run businesses.

For a one-time $10 fee, you can send them your bio and link to your website and etsy shop. They don’t want links to your blog and they’re not accepting guest writers right now, so this is more aimed at handmade businesses rather than blogging. Definitely a good place if you do run a handmade business or if you are looking to purchase from mom-run businesses.

If you are a mommy blogger, like I am, and you are looking for a place or two to meet other mommy bloggers and market your blog, check these out:

BloggyMomsGooglePlusCoverBloggy Moms – Blogging community where you can add all of your information, find paid opportunities and join blog hops. I actually had someone contact me about Yo Momma Monday from the May blog hop (I will post her story on Monday). I love this site and I think any mom blogger could benefit from being a member.

540626_459897110691695_1504951293_nMomiverse – An online magazine for all the mommas out there. They have articles, resources and you can write for them, partner up with them and become a community director. I didn’t even know all of this when I checked them out at first so looks like I have some research to do!

mbc19kMom Bloggers Club – There isΒ  A LOT you can do here. You can join groups, advertise your business in their marketplace and read their blog that is all about being a momma. You can do as much or as little that you want to do and it’s free to join. It’s a good place if you write AND have your own business.

I will never forget when I told someone that I was a stay-at-home mom and they actually responded with “ha, must be nice to be rich.” I had to laugh and if I had a drink, I probably would have spit it out. My boyfriend and I discussed both situations (me working outside the home and me working inside the home) and decided that it would actually be more cost-effective if I stayed home. We’re not doing this because we’re so rich that I don’t need to work. That would be lovely, but it couldn’t be further from the truth.

Also, I was never told that I had to work while I was at home. This is my choice because I want to help support my family, and I wanted to keep following my dreams. I also understand that some moms have to work outside the home. My mom always worked, and then came home and took care of us. I know it ain’t easy to have to leave and go to work every morning, especially after sleepless nights with your little ones, and I applaud any mom who can do it.

We’re all just trying to make the best of what we have, and this is my way of doing it.

With that being said, if you know of any good sites for mommy businesses/bloggers, please post in the comments. Please also post your mommy business/blog in the comments as I’m looking to profile them along with my Yo Momma Monday posts!

 

Leave a Reply

