Thrifty Thursdays

thrifty thursdays

If I could buy my mom everything in the world, I would. She has put up with more from me in the last 30 years than people should have to put up with in a lifetime. There’s not a whole lot I could say other than she’s probably the most understanding and caring person I have ever met. Luckily for me, she is is also my mom. She listens to all my insane ideas and tries her hardest to support every one of them, no matter how dumb they sound.

This is why, if I could, I would give her a $1,000,000 dollar gift card to both Macys and Nordstroms…so she could get all the Estee Lauder and comfortable shoes her heart could desire. But, let’s face it. As a stay-at-home mom with no real sign of employment in sight, that’s probably not going to happen for a while.

I’m sure most of you are in the same boat (or you clearly would not be reading a post titled “Thrifty Thursdays” right now), here are some inexpensive Mothers Day gifts that you could make yourself, and that she will actually use. Because, as much as she said she loved that macaroni necklace I made for her, I never once saw her wear it outside the house.

DIY_Gift_Terrarium_Kit1Terranium kit, by Wit & Whistle. Found project through Creative Home

She also sells her own homemade goods on her site, and they’re pretty awesome

herbal-foot-soak-1Herbal foot soak, by My Own Labels. Found this one through Garden Therapy.

Both sites are new to me, and are equally awesome.

apron-inajar-2Apron in a jar! Another project found at Garden Therapy, by My Own Labels!

DIY-Mother's-Day-Vase_thumb[2]Mothers Days vases for the green thumbs in your life, by Ucreate

momlockettMothers Day locket, by the plunge project

8724090111_460fa0b116_bAnd if your mom lives afar, party in a box! by delightfully tacky, one of my very favorite blogs

I pinned a whole bunch of DIY Mothers Day ideas and you can find them here. I try to keep the amount of projects to five, unless I can’t help myself and need to post more. I just don’t want to bombard and overwhelm you with all these awesome projects! I also try to limit the sources to either blogs or small businesses who need our love.

If you have a Mothers Day idea you would like to share, please leave it in the comments. Thank you!

4 thoughts on “Thrifty Thursdays

  1. Reblogged this on Nannyville and commented:
    These are cute and easy ways to celebrate moms. I know I’ve posted like a million posts on Mother’s day but none of us would be here without them, nor would we have jobs if mom’s hadn’t had our charges. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

