Gettin fit: journey to the skirt

Current weight: 152.5

Two week goal: Yoga every day for 20 minutes, no soft drinks

IMG_3587This has no longer become an issue of weight. I’m seriously just tracking it so I can track my progress. This has now become an issue of being able to fit into this skirt. I got it a long time ago, and I don’t have the heart to do anything to it because it’s old school and if I mess it up, I fear that will never find a skirt like this again. I know it’s just a material item, but its one of the most lovely material items I have ever seen.

So, for now, it hangs on my door as motivation to get off my bum and work out and eat right every day. Shockingly enough, it has been harder to quit soft drinks than it was to quit beer when I got pregnant. Maybe because I knew I just couldn’t have it, that it was easy to quit the booze the day I found out I was pregnant. I never thought I had an addiction to sodas, but now I’m second-guessing myself.

Since I lived on my own, I never had sodas in my house. Why drink soda when there was beer handy? I would drink them when I was out for lunch or something, but that was it. Then I got pregnant and craved Arnold Palmers like nobody’s business. When those weren’t handy, I craved Sprite. Sprite was my gateway soda. Now that my boyfriend and his dad always have soda on standby, it’s so hard to turn them down when I’m tired as all heck and just need a pick-me-up to help me get through the day.

Then there’s the exercise thing. Sure, I could start working out when my daughter naps, but I use that time to clean and work on my blog and other things that are way more exciting than working out. I was working out with her, but then stopped when she got bored of it. I need to start doing that again. For now, I just wait until my boyfriend gets home to hang out with her so I can work out with any interruptions (most of the time). It’s my little half hour of sanity. But then I quit doing that too.

To help kick me into gear with working out, I have started 108 Days of Yoga. It started yesterday, so go figure, I already missed the first day. But I’m going to start that tonight. I’m also doing the Yoga Journal Fitness Challenge but I’ve had a hard time staying on track with that too. Like, it’s on Day 11 and I’ve only completed one day of it, kind of hard time. If I can just commit to twenty minutes of exercise and no soft drinks for two weeks, I will start to increase my amount of exercise time and cut off another unhealthy food. I know myself and I need to go at this at a slow pace. If I get too stressed out about it, I will just quit everything altogether like I’ve done a million times before.

I’m going to post my progress every week on Tuesdays so feel free to follow me on my journey to fitting into that skirt!

One thought on “Gettin fit: journey to the skirt

Leave a Reply

