This week at the weekly treat

weekly treat

I still remember my trip to Italy. I remember all the museums, Cathedrals, cafes and shopping. I remember the gondola rides, the wine, the alleys lined with all the beautiful architecture and clothes drying on clotheslines, swaying in the wind. I remember my dad and I lugging around our laundry, trying to find a laundry mat and I remember dancing atop one of our hotels. I remember searching all around for a gelato shop until we finally found one, and I remember Nutella.

Just like we get little cream cheese packets with bagels at any continental breakfast at any hotel in America, Italians get Nutella packets with every breakfast they are served. Now, I have bought numerous jars of Nutella since I made that trip over five years ago, and every time I do, I think of Italy. I think of my family that I visited there and I think of the way I felt when I saw the David. And I smile.

When I was organizing the pantry (for what feels like the millionth time) today, I was a little shocked and saddened that I didn’t have any Nutella. So to give me the kick in the hiney that I need to restock, I thought I would dedicate this week’s weekly treat to all things Nutella. And I learned that I can also incorporate peanut butter and pumpkin into my recipes, so I am a happy girl.

DSC_043322Homemade Nutella, from The Eccentric Cook

061Frenchy’s Best Nutella Buns recipe, by Le Chateau des Fleurs

IMG_00038Peanut Butter Nutella Cupcakes, by Your Cup of Cake

Nutella-Pumpkin-Bars-765x1024Nutella Swirled Pumpkin Bars, by Lemons for Lulu

IMG_0292-757x1024Easy Nutella & Caramel Brownies, from little kitchen, big bites

Have any Nutella recipes? Did you make any of the above recipes and want to share your experience? Please join our group The Weekly Treat on Facebook.

2 thoughts on “This week at the weekly treat

Leave a Reply

