Because I don’t like to be bored…

I’ve been interested in graphic design and web design for a while now. I really got into it when I was an editor at my college newspaper and I got to see the “behind the scenes” action of designing the paper. While writing has always been my true passion, the design bug was definitely planted that semester.

I also really got involved in the art scene in Sacramento last semester but that came to a screeching halt after I moved to Stockton. I wanted to remain involved but under my current circumstances, I couldn’t really do that. So I decided to start my own art collective. And that’s just what I did…dang it! I even created this graphic for it, which is a big deal for me.

Untitled-15www.babyburritocollective.com

I’m also still volunteering for Vox (a nonprofit art studio in Sacramento) and I plan on teaching some classes and hosting some DIY days there. If you’re in the Sacramento area, you should definitely check them out. Classes are relatively cheap and members can hang in the gallery for free!

537769_10151389843263400_1287235153_nvoxsac.com

I also started as an editorial intern at Yogi Times, an online yoga magazine where yoga enthusiasts can write articles, post press releases and write reviews on…pretty much anything related to yoga. It involves two of my favorite things…writing and yoga.

logoyogitimes.com

Last but most definitely not least, I am only one step away of achieving a goal of mine: attending the Academy of Arts! I have been saving their catalogs since high school, and I finally took the leap to attend the school. It will be all online so I can do it all from home, and I will be working on my degree in graphic design. I am beyond excited and I find out for sure in a couple of weeks!

aaulinehttps://www.academyart.edu/

It feels like everything is coming together and I am so excited to start these new adventures in my life. Are you taking a big leap this year? Are there any fun projects you are working on? Share your story in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Because I don’t like to be bored…

  1. Amanda I am so happy for you to start realizing your personal goals and dreams. You are amazing with your talent for writing and everything else you do. Good job !! SMPatty

Leave a Reply

