Keep it clean: recipe remix

Yesterday, I had all the intentions of baking apple brownies. Then it got kind of crazy here and I ended up making nothing. Well, I did make grilled cheeses for dinner, but they were not the fancy ones that I saw on Pinterest. Just simple good ol’ grilled cheese. Today, I decided that I would make the brownies. Since I am trying to make my recipes as clean as possible, I did a little recipe remix.

IMG_0006

The original recipe is from Beyond Kimchee and this is what I did to change it up a little:

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted 3/4 cup pumpkin puree
1 2/3 cup sugar 3/4 c Truvia, with a little maple syrup
2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla
3 cups apples (about 2-3 apples), peeled, cored and chopped
1/2 cup chopped walnut
2 cups (whole wheat) flour
2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
Aside from that, I followed the instructions and my apple brownies came out delightful! I thought they might taste kind of funky with the apple/pumpkin combination but the pumpkin taste wasn’t that potent.
IMG_0005
Finally…a use for all of those danged apples!

Leave a Reply

