Momma’s garden project: week 6

growwriteguild_banner

A couple weeks ago, I was introduced to what might be the most amazing thing I have ever found, The Grow Write Guild by You Grow Girl. It was started by Gayla Trail and is an online garden journal. Every two weeks, you get a new prompt that somehow relates to your garden. This week’s prompt was: Describe your fantasy garden.

Well, my fantasy garden would be in the same place it is now. I love the area it is in, it’s all blocked off and just for my little plants. But there would be more to it. The fences would be lined with avocado trees. There would be a blueberry bush and my strawberries would be out of control.

There would be a stone pathway into the garden and there would be a little garden area for Cecilia where she could grow what she chose, and tend to it. Then she would love tending to her garden so much that she would be inspired to tend to mine.

I would have a pineapple tree and a banana tree upon entering. There would be flat, dark rocks everywhere and in the middle would be this amazing table with running water streaming down the middle and watering the plants below. I saw the table on Pinterest and it has since gotten lost in the shuffle. But that table will be mine!

There would be a bench (of course) where I would read my book and sip tea while the sprinklers did my job for me.

Ah, fantasy.

IMG_3526

While I’m working on my fantasy garden, here’s how my for real garden is going. The tomato plants are getting bigger so I finally had to break out the cage. I only have one cage for now, so the biggest plant got spoiled. The others will just have to wait. We got in some peppers….sweet!

IMG_3524

IMG_3494 IMG_3500

Now for the sad part. I posted some beautiful broccoli pictures last week, then I was saddened to learn that those flowers in the pictures were actually bad. What? Since when are flowers bad? So, I had to break off that part to let it grow some more. My strawberries took a definite pooper, so I had to take them out of the planter and into the ground.

IMG_3504

Look at that sad basil. Makes me sad to know my basil is so sad.

Look at that sad basil. Makes me sad to know my basil is so sad.

You can find more fantastic garden ideas on my Pinterest and you can see more garden pictures on my Facebook page.

So, how is your garden doing?

2 thoughts on “Momma’s garden project: week 6

  1. I am somehow comforted by the fact that some of your plants are sad! I know that’s not fair, but I’m just getting the garden going here, and am worried about some of the little guys. I put the tomatoes in their permanent pots yesterday, and am wondering whether I should cage them now or wait and hope that they don’t get too big for their little bamboo stakes…Did you have a hard time wrestling them into their cages? I chronicled the state of the union here today: https://whenitsathome.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/name-that-flower/

    • Your chives look amazing! I’m pretty jealous. Unfortunately, I only had one tomato cage so I used it for the biggest one. Wasn’t hard to wrangle, but now I see another plant that desperately needs a cage, so hopefully I will be able to get another one soon! They definitely need cages though, and I found mine at Lowe’s for not that much. And I’m glad my sad little plants could provide you comfort 🙂

Leave a Reply

