Fridays are for Favorites

Untitled-1

I’ve been so focused on my garden and food lately that I forgot about one of my greatest loves, crafting! Tomorrow is my designated crafting day (yes, I have to designate crafting days) and since I have a lot of screen printing to get done, I figured I would start working on that this weekend.

I was lucky enough to get a Yudu machine for Christmas a few years ago, but I have yet to learn how to use it. I’m going to try working with the machine tomorrow, but I also wanted to know how to screen print on my own, just in case the machine and I do not agree.

Here are some of my favorite tutorials.

screen print tutorials

1. Screenprinting Tutorial – Nerdy by Nature, by daogreer earth works. This tutorial uses a canvas, which I haven’t seen too much before. So if you have some canvas lying around, this would be a good tutorial to check out. She gives you step by step instructions, it’s lengthy but very useful.

2. DIY screen printing tutorial, by paper raindrops. This one uses nylon for the screen and mod podge. Inna, the creator of the site and tutorial said it’s good for words and pictures but to keep it simple.

3. Stencil screenprinting tutorial, by Flower Press. This is for the artist/illustrator, which I am not right now. But this would definitely be something I want to check out when I get better at that kind of stuff. For now, I’ll stick to simply printing out my designs.

4. DIY Screenprinted Tee tutorial, by Lovely Indeed. Not everyone has screen printing ink or wants to go get it. So if that’s you, check out this tutorial. It looks relatively easy, and came out super cute! I have all the materials so I’ll need to check it out tomorrow.

5. Valentines day: heartbreaker tees, by Handmade Home. Jamin and Ashley, the creators of the page and tutorials, used freezer paper to screen print “Heatbreaker” on tees for their children on Valentines day. This is a simple tutorial that you don’t need a lot of materials for, so if you have freezer paper, this is one to check out.

My friend who has her own little screen printing thing going lives by Speedball, which you can get a starter kit of on Amazon. You can also find eco-friendly screen printing ink at SilkScreeningSupplies.com.

And if you want to find out how to make those scrabble squares, you can get the tutorial from WebDesign.org.

If you have any screen printing tutorials to share, please do so in the comments! Hope you print some awesome stuff!

Leave a Reply

