Thrifty Thursdays

thrifty thursdays

I still remember when I got my own homemade soap kit. I was in high school and after I received homemade soap as a gift, I told my dad that I wanted to try my hand at it. Now, high school was over ten years ago for me, so there was no Pinterest. There was a homemade soap kit that my dad got me, though.

So I gave it a whirl. And it was absolutely horrible. I mean, the kit itself was cool, but my soap came out all wrong. I just remember it being kind of greasy and sticky at the same time. It was gross. I’m gagging now just thinking about it. I ultimately decided that soap making was not my forte and never tried it again. Once I heard that traditional homemade soap was made using animal fat, I was reassured that I didn’t want anything to do with making soap.

Every time I see homemade soap for sale, there is a little ache in my heart, knowing that I could be doing that. So, I checked Pinterest to see if there were any tutorials for making soap without using animal fat. Because if it’s it not on Pinterest, it probably doesn’t exist. Obviously. And, wouldn’t you know it, there are.

Here are some cool tutorials for making soap, one of them even includes beer!

raspberrypreserves1_lgTutorial on making cold-process soap, by Soap Deli News. There is  A LOT to making soap.

Next time someone gives you handmade soap as a gift, give them a hug.

393a670d49fe2551ee70d566d0120169Liquid hand soap tutorial, by The Bungalow Boutique

4957a484dd42b663f0d3bc86f031babcEco-friendly soap video tutorial, by Soap Queen

6a014e8c14bd09970d017742a50b53970d-800wiOatmeal soap tutorial, by olallieberry. She has a whole bunch of cool things on her blog.

You should check her out just because

patchouli-beer-bar-300x300It’s with great pleasure that I bring to you, beer soap tutorial, by Great Cakes Soapworks

Have a soap recipe you want to share? Put it in the comments!

All of the pictures are from the tutorial sites. You can either click on the picture or on the link to be directed back to each website.

One thought on “Thrifty Thursdays

  1. All of these are great recipes, and I’m a sucker for any of the beer soaps. Did you know that you can make any soap recipe without animal fats? There are so many different oils and butters that you can go with that the sky is the limit! Thanks for including my eco-friendly soap, I hope you or your readers will be able to try it out.

Leave a Reply

