Fridays are for Favorites

fridays are for favoritesWhen I was a little (ok, sometimes even now), every song that came on the radio was my FAVORITE song. I put that in all capital letters because that was how intense my love for each song was. Then I would tell everyone to be quiet because it was my favorite song, and I would continue to talk through the entire song.

This is how I feel when I look at fonts. Every font I look at, I like more than the last font. It’s a good thing I have a baby who requires the majority of my attention because I could spend an entire day looking at fonts.

So, why fonts?

When I first attended college, I knew exactly what I wanted to do – I was going to be a journalist. I would start small at a local paper, then some day, I would be writing for a big ol magazine. First, it was National Geographic. Then I realized I would have to be out in the jungle for extended periods of time, and that dream suddenly died.

When I returned to college after I lost my job, the newspaper business was on its death bed and all of my friends who were in my newspaper class back in 2005 had already lost their jobs and were all in the same boat…freelance.

So I decided to start my own blog. And I wanted to design it. And hopefully some day, I would start designing other people’s websites and blogs. And then hey, while I was at it, maybe I could design my own clothes. And then other people’s clothes.

There was one little issue. I didn’t know the first thing about design.

Image from tutoriallounge.com. Click on picture for website

Image from tutoriallounge.com.

So, I signed up for a typography class through Skillshare. And then I met the wide, wide world of typography. Hoping to get some inspiration for the class, I did what any other normal person would do and got on Pinterest. There, I opened Pandora’s box of typography.

I had NO idea how many typography tutorial sites there were. Here are my five of my favorites:

Create-a-Tasty-3D-Typographic-Illustration1. Wonderful typography tutorials for finest designers, by tutorial lounge. I counted twenty-five different tutorials for designers, in both Photoshop and Illustrator. The tutorials range from designing posters, to making portraits out of words. Definitely a good place to start.

chalkboard-howto2. How to fake a chalkboard effect in Photoshop, by foolish fire. Like the chalkboard effect as much as I do? Yeah, I thought you did. Even if you don’t, someone else does. And you could share it with them.

Cool-Wet-Ink-Typography-Effect-in-Photoshop3. 33 best typography tutorials, from graphicalerts. I like it when sites give you a variety of tutorials. If you’re in the market for a specific font or graphic, then sure, it’s good to find one that is specific to that. If you’re like me and just getting into this, it’s good to have a variety to choose from.spiff-guide-vert2

4. Beginners guide to spiffing up your hand lettering in photoshop, by foolish fire. Did foolish fire just become my new best friend? Step-by-step tutorial on making your letters look even more beautiful. Psh, if that was possible.

5. How to Create Custom Typography, by VectorLabTV. For those of you who are like me and need a visual demonstration, VectorLabTV has a bunch of tutorials that you can view on YouTube.

If this is the beginning of your typography adventure, then let the fun begin! Have any good typography tutorials to share? Please do so in the comments!

As always, you can follow me on Facebook, Pinterest and Twitter for more ideas and inspiration.

Leave a Reply

