Thrifty Thursday

thriftythursday

If someone told me a couple years ago that I would have been a stay at home mom, I would have laughed. That was never in my cards. I was supposed to just write about local music and art shows for the rest of my life. That would totally pay the bills, right?

Fortunately for me, fate had other plans and I wound up as something I told myself would never happen, a stay at home mom. And I consider myself one of the lucky ones. I honestly spend every day taking care of my baby, going to school and blogging.

Sure, I clean, cook and bake. But that’s because I all of a sudden like a clean house (go figure) and I’m loving this whole making food thing. Nobody told me this is what I do, I just do it. It’s my contribution to our family.

Since I’m not bring in the money, I try to spend the least amount of it that I can. So, I’ve been looking up different ways to make stuff or to reuse stuff that we already have in order to save some money here and there.

I know I’m not the only one in this boat, so I came up with Thrifty Thursday. A day dedicated to sharing different methods to keeping the money in your family. I’ll scour the internet (ok, mostly pinterest) and list about 5-10 different websites (depending on what I find) that feature cool projects for saving some of your hard-earned dollars.

Since I’m drinking coffee while I type, I’ll focus on handmade coffee creamers. Not what you’re into? What about gifting them to a friend?

Homemade-Coffee-Creamers1. Homemade coffee creamers, by Around my Family Table. This recipe is from Tiffany, a contributing writer to Around my Family Table, who blogs at offbeat + inspired. She offers three different flavors, maple almond, mocha and cinnamon vanilla. Check out the posting on Around my Family Table for the recipes.

IMG_87062. Homemade pumpkin creamer, by Next to Heaven. Y’all know how much I love pumpkin. So this solves my dilemma of never being able to find pumpkin creamer except for in October! Or, going to Starbucks just to get a pumpkin spice latte and finding out it’s “out of season.” I’m sorry, what? Pumpkin is never out of season.

3. Over two dozen flavors from one base recipe, from Mrs. Happy Homemaker. Is your family like mine and everyone likes a different flavor? Do you live spontaneously and want your creamers to match your lifestyle? Then check out this site.coffeecreamer5

coffee creamer 14. Homemade coffee creamers – 3 ways, from Acute Designs. Hold up, pumpkin spice AND dark chocolate? I think I found my soul mate. There’s also salted caramel, too. I’ve never gotten into the salted caramel craze, so maybe this will be my gateway drug, er, creamer.

almond-joy-creamer5. Homemade vegan almond joy coffee creamer from the hungry tortoise. When I followed a strict vegan diet on the days I felt like following it, I would always get peeved when I couldn’t find a vegan version of whatever food or beverage I wanted. So, here it is.

 

Have a homemade coffee creamer you would like to share? Want to see homemade recipes for something else? Leave your response in the comments! And as always, you can follow my homemade adventures on Facebook, Pinterest and Twitter.

2 thoughts on “Thrifty Thursday

Leave a Reply

