Pumpkin wheat biscuits

SONY DSCThis morning I woke up needing a biscuit. I looked up some biscuit recipes and finally settled on this recipe from joyofbaking.com. Since the recipe looked a little hefty, I thought I would make some changes to make them healthier. This is what I did:

 

2 1/2 cups (325 grams) all-purpose wheat flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 tablespoon (14 grams) granulated white sugar (optional)
1/2 cup (113 grams) cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces pumpkin puree
3/4 cup (180 ml) milk soy milk
1 large egg, lightly beaten
Topping:
1 large egg, lightly beaten with 1 tablespoon milk

The recipe yielded 10 biscuits, but I ended up with 20, and they were only one Weight Watchers point, as opposed to the six points with the original recipe!

They turned out good, but a little dry. I was thinking about adding some dark chocolate chips to the batter to give them some sweetness. I really love dark chocolate. But after I had them with my leftover dinner, I decided that putting chocolate in them might not be the best idea.

So, I think I will add some more pumpkin puree, since I could hardly taste it anyway and maybe add some honey.

Please feel free to add any suggestions to make the biscuits less dry in the comments section!

Leave a Reply

