can you dig it?

SONY DSCWhen I was making pasta the other day, I was thinking about how much I hate tomato sauce. It’s totally the “weird uncle” of the sauce family. Pesto, of course, is the cool relative who may not come around all the time, but always brings the party.

The only issue is that no matter what house you’re in, the “weird uncle” is always around and the “cool relative” is not. So, what’s a girl to do when she wants some friggin pesto? And she doesn’t just want a jar, she wants it at her fingertips for whenever she has a hankering.

She buys some basil to plant.

But then she sees all peppers, onions, parsley, tomatoes, tomatillos, cucumbers, strawberries and more. So she buys all the plants that looks appealing and thus starts her ghetto little garden. SONY DSC

We’re waiting to till the field in the back, so my ghetto front yard garden will do for now. I started it yesterday and already lost a cucumber, but the rest look promising. I’m hoping that this will cut back on our grocery trips and eventually to get all of our produce from our yard. That would be so awesome!

When people say that gardening is a good stress reliever, they are right. Not that I have much to be stressed out about, but I feel calm the moment I put my gloves on. And it’s something that I’ve started on my own and will be my own little project. I also saw that there’s a community urban farm in Stockton who are looking for people to help give produce to the poor and elderly.

How cool would that be if I could help them out!

SONY DSCThe best part is that I bring the little babe to oversee all the work and supervise. It’s a cool time to spend with her and another story I can share with her. I’m keeping these photos as keepsakes from our little experience so when Cecilia complains about how lame I am, I can yank these bad boys out to show her. And hopefully she’ll think I’m cool.

Make sure to check back for updates on this ghetto little garden!

Have you started a garden before? What was your experience like?

Leave a Reply

