a day of soup

I’m pretty sure that there is not one person in the world who loves moving. All of the packing and unpacking, I could really do without that. I can’t wait for the day when I can afford to have movers, that’s my version of achieving the American dream.

But, there is one good thing I can always count on when I move. If you give yourself enough time, it can be like spring cleaning. Of course, if you don’t allow yourself the time, you end up just throwing everything into boxes and bags and promising yourself that you’ll organize when you get there, which you’ll never do. Trust me…I’ve been there before.

Another thing I like to do before I move is see what I can make with the food in the cupboard and fridge so I don’t have to pack it, or even worse…get frustrated with all the recipes I bought food for but never actually used and just get rid of the food altogether.

IMG_2680So, when I looked in my cupboard and saw this little beauty, I figured this would be the perfect time to try it. I made a cup of rice with 1 cup of veggie broth and 2 cups of water. Then I added a cup of the soup on top of it and…voila! My lunch was served…and it was amazing. The soup was 8 points, which is a little high but it was healthy and I wasn’t ready to eat my own skin by the time dinner was ready, like usual.

For dinner, I decided to try another recipe from Skinny Ms. Slow Cooker. This time it was a Southwestern black bean and veggie soup, which at only 3 points for a cup and a half of soup, it was surprisingly filling.

Due to some of the ingredients not being available, I had to make some small adjustments:

  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small sweet onion, diced
  • 3 carrots, sliced into 1/4″ pieces
  • 1 medium sweet potato, cut into 1/2″ cubes
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can fire roasted tomatoes (regular diced is optional)
  • 1 (4 ounce) can green chili peppers, diced
  • 2 (15 ounce cans) black beans, drained
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes, more or less to taste
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • Kosher or sea salt to taste
  • 2 1/2 cups vegetable broth, low-sodium

IMG_2679All you have to do is put those ingredients and then cook the soup on low for about 6-7 hours. Did I mention how much I love my slow cooker? I swear it was invented by a stay at home mom to a little baby. I was able to feed her, rock her, cuddle her, feed her, change her diaper, feed her some more and do my homework without ever touching the crock pot. It was amazing!

The best part of this…I have leftovers for tomorrow. You never truly appreciate the value of leftovers until you are the one cooking.

Leave a Reply

