Interview with Bonnie Forkner of Going Home to Roost

Bonnie Forkner authors one of my favorite blogs, Going Home to Roost, and she also sells her crafts on etsy. Her journey has taken her from North Carolina to Colorado and most recently, to California, so her husband could follow his passion of being a cycling coach.

Forkner’s blog focuses on the very things that I love, “everything handmade and homegrown.” Feeling inspired, I asked Forkner about how she got her start blogging and how she makes it all happen.

What made you decide to become a full time blogger/etsy shop owner? Was it over time or did something just click and you knew that’s what you wanted to do? 

I’ve always been a creative, but didn’t always know what i wanted to do with it. It wasn’t until after college that I really decided that I wanted to blog and sell on etsy. It took several months of thoughtful planning and a full year before I quit my day job, but with dedication, it happened!

What were your biggest fears? How did you overcome them? Do any of those fears still exist?
My biggest fear was that I wouldn’t be able to contribute enough financially to our well-being. I married an amazing man though, who supports my dreams and creativity no matter what the cost, so I’ve always been able to continue pursuing my dreams. It’s still a fear of mine, but I’m beginning to have more faith on the reliability of it all 🙂
How long did you do DIY crafts/gardening/cooking for before deciding to start your own creative business?
It seems like forever! That’s really one of the main reasons are started blogging. I was crafting, re-upholstering and making new recipes all the time and really wanted a place to share them all.
Who would you say is your mentor?
Definitely my mom. She is the source of all of my creativity and is a constant inspiration to me. She’s always there for me and helps me with new business ideas and creative projects.
Where did you come up with the idea for the Roost Tribe? How has that helped your business grow?
I was just discussing the blogging business with one of my friends this past summer when inspiration struck. I started to envision something that I, myself, would love to be a part of. Something that was incredibly affordable for the individual, but had potential to generate revenue as well. It dawned on me that after learning so many things the hard way, I would have *died* to have been able to be a part of something like the roost tribe in my earlier years. I realized that I had information and talents that others could benefit from and also had designs, recipes and other goodies that i wanted to share with people. Basically, I dreamt up something that would be fun, engaging, educational and totally worth 5 bucks.
Where do you want to take this next?
You’ll have to wait and see! 😉
You seem to do it all, how do you manage your time?
I don’t! Haha. I make a lot of lists and try to stay on task. I work too much (as most creatives do) but i try to turn my brain off when it’s not work time so that I can be fully present in the other areas of my life.
What do you do when you’re not working?
When I’m not working on a project, you can find me out in nature, running and traveling with my sweet husband.
What advice do you have for someone who is trying to start their own creative business?

Sometimes the hardest thing can just be to START. I encourage you to do at least one thing every day that leads you in the direction of your dreams. Take baby steps and never give up!

If you want to find out more about Going Home to Roost or learn more about joining the Roost Tribe, visit goinghometoroost.com.

Leave a Reply

