The Muffin Saga Continues….

Not wanting to fail one of my challenges, I am determined to make a decent batch of muffins. Not only would I successfully complete a challenge, but muffins seem relatively easy to make and are such delicious treats!

So, I started over again. This time I added half an apple (ate the other half while getting the ingredients ready) and a handful of blueberries. I also only baked them for 15 minutes, as opposed to the suggested 20 minute baking time.

And, I must say…they turned out wonderful! My friends and family are generally afraid to try my baking/cooking but they all loved them!

I’m not sure what I love more, that I succeeded in my challenge…or that I made a treat that was not only edible, but delicious! My mornings will be so much better now….

So here is what I changed:

2 /1/2 cup oats (old fashioned kind, not quick cooking)

*1 single serving cup of plain low fat greek yogurt

*2 eggs

*3/4 cup sweetener of choice, I used the real stuff: sugar! or 2 tbs stevia sweetener

*1 1/2 tsp baking powder

*1/2 tsp baking soda

*2 bananas

1/2 apple

Handful of blueberries

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray tin with non-stick cooking spray or line 12 muffin tins with silicone or foil liners, (or just use a silicone muffin pan).
2. Place all of the ingredients, including bananas in a blender or food processor, and blend until oats are smooth. *Important: I add the oats a cup at a time and then add the liquids. I have to stop the blender and stir a few times throughout as well. 
3. Divide batter among cupcake liners, and bake for 20-25 15 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

I was also told to try adding cinnamon, or a little something to spice them up soon. I’m going to try cinnamon and maybe some pumpkin spice for the fall! Can’t wait to make them again!

Here is the link to the recipe again, courtesy of the Keeping Up with the Joneses blog.

Leave a Reply

